The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female advertising executives according to the

average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the

amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the

advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than

six hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. On the

basis of this study, we recommend that businesses hire only people who need less

than six hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered

in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is

based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would

help to evaluate the recommendation.

The studies in which researchers try to find a link between entities are not absolutely justifiable, because just having a relationship does not guarantee a correct casuality. In the case of advertising executives, the amount of sleep is an insufficient factor to draw such a conclusion. I think before putting this recommendation into action, the writer has to answer a few questions about the type of instrument to gather the data and other intervening variables that have an effect on the success of advertising companies. Moreover, he needs to resulte the doubts which will be originated from successful companies with flexible working hours.

In the first question, ha has to put emphasis on the type instrument that researchers used to identify the relationship. Academically speaking, an strong research instrument which could be, whether a questionnaire or an interview, must be valid and reliable to provide acceptable result. To answer this question, the author needs to explain how respondents answers measured by the instrument and how the result refuted or agreed the previous studies. Therefore, his recommendation will be more convincing if he provide some technical and scientific details about the research process.

The subject of the second question will be the role of intervening variables and their impact on the final outcome which is a proposed association between the hours of sleep and the success. By definition, intervening variable are incidents that happen during the experiment or already existed in the environment. Sometimes researchers ignore these varibles which consequently undermines the results. However, the author can strengthen his proposal by giving assurance that other variables were restricted during the research process so the companies can rely on it without any hesitation.

Finally, the author should think consider the successful ad companies with flexible woking hours where some employees may have more than 6 hours of sleep. This contradictory evidence could be a weakness of the proposal unless the author provides an analogy and enumerates the advantages of fixed working hours for companies. Although a new research will be needed to convince more managers about the fixed working hours, it is a worthwhile effort to enrich his recommendation.

All in all, accepting the proposal in which hiring early birds for advertising companies is recommended created a few more questions in mind of managers such as How the data are ghathered, how the effect of intervening variables, if any, measured and what about the flexible working hours. By providing reasonable answers to the questions, the author can assure managers to follow his recommendation.