The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a

company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of

high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now

that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should

sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since

our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up

customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in

each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher

prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will

increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate

the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

argument.

The new vice president of Sartorian company recommends reproducing overcoats which are mainly made by high quality wool fabric. Five years ago the company was forced to stop making them due to lack of supplies of wool. Nowadays, a new fabric supplier is found, so Sartorian company has high chances to achieve a success in overcoats. Although revitalizing overcoat production line seems feasible, it is filled with fallacies and poor evidences that makes the Sartorian SEO uncertain to accept it.

First of all, avaiblibility of a new fabric supplier cannot guarantee a warm acceptance from people to buy alpaca overcoat. On one hand, the dearth of overcoats may create the need among people who are willing to wear those Alpaca overcoats. On the other hand, the long absence from markets probably forced people to migrate to other brands to buy overcoats. This dichotomy put the possible success of Sartorian at stake so the new vice president has to study the market and buyers specifications in detail before proposing any revolutionary ideas. To provide such an evidence the company can hire market researchers to prepare comprehensive reports.

Secondly, the Fashion and generally the habits and interests of people toward the clothes are changing almost month by month which indicates that vice president’s expectation hardly come true. A brand of overcoat whose production halted for five years undoubtedly expelled from people’s mind. As a matter of fact, the shoppers rarely reject prefer old fashioned models when presented new ones. Therefore, Sartorian company needs concrete evidence from the realm of fashion to support vice president claim.

Finally, another weakness of this recommendation is that vice president wrongly put himself in customer’s shoes. He believes that they are happy with new price of Alpaca overcoat and buy them without any complain because the prices of other types of clothing also increased during the last five years. However, there is no such evidence to prove that people are willingly pay more prices for an old fashioned overcoat which was absent from the stores for a great deal of time. Another factor is the possible presence of new companies trying to attract more customers with cheaper prices. Thus, the vice president’s suggestive plan is not complete until he stops judging about people and begin observing their behaviors in real life.

All in all, the lack of enough evidence makes policy makers uncertain to accept vice president’s proposal about reluanching Alpaca overcoart. The proposal does not assure a warm acceptance from buyers who try to move along the fashions trends. Besides, It must be free of bias toward the idea that most people would embrace Alpaca overcoats and pay high prices for them when they presented when newer, more beautiful and more fashion friendly clothes.