In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be

required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position,

you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and

explain how these consequences shape your position.

The issue states the managers and adiministrators in different sections of industry and education must be restricted in their period and they should not be allowed to be in the office more than 5 years. However, looking at it from a different angle, we see the values of these seemingly overdue persons such as experience and knowledge they have gathered during the years in power. Moreover, finding a new manager is a complicated process which also creates a new work envoironment with new demands.

First, 5 years is not adequate to evaluate the quality of a manager, because it may take some time to control the situation and overcome the severities. Additionally, many person in charge of leading a company or an organization begin showing competencies and talents just after 5 years so forcing them to abandon their offices at 5 years is not recommended. In some cases it happened and unfortunately the whole system was collapsed. For example, some Iranian football clubs after a season of failures, do not let the coach stay in the team and fire him in hope of finding a better coach, but surprisingly the fired coach who has been given more time in another team, does very well and make the team champion.

Second, employees cannot soon change their long term habits. It means that they get used to the current manager and all his principles, ideas and expectations, but a new manager will not be in accordance with the staff and employees at least for the first year. This inconsistency wastes the valuable resources of the company and keeps them away from their mission. However, avoiding this ridicules rule, reduces the risks .

Finally, let’s assume that every company agreed to this rule and the administrators prepared to leave their offices before reaching the fifth year of their period, then how to find new suitable persons to fill this vacancy. It is quite time consuming and difficult to select the best candidate to head a large company, since exact and careful assessment before hiring the right person. It reveals that, this 5 year limit is not applicable to every case easily due to its infrastructural problems.

All in all, the 5 year limit for managers and administrators does not seem reasonable owing to some facts which probably ignored by the writer of the issue. The experience and knowledge collected during 5 years in office will be wasted if they are forced to leave. Moreover, the employees use resources to get familiar with the new person and at last finding a new reliable and valuable person could be leanthgy and complicated process. For these reasons, the companies have to resist this limit and keep their managers in power for more than 5 years.