Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to

withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to

be fully informed.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own

position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The author suggests that some people think that politicians or leaders should hide information from the public while others advocate the freedom of information and urge powerful persons to share information with them. In my opinion, regardless of the choice, system of the government and the policies are determining factors to whether disclose or withhold information. In what follows, the reasons of both groups will be expressed and discussed and my viewpoint would complement those views.

The persons who believe that political leaders should publicly distribute information in the society are in favor of freedom of information and expression. They cannot tolerate withholding information especially from people who are in charge of making decisions. The main reason they offer for such a behavior is preventing governments from corruption. Moreover, concealment of information could be against democracy in their eyes. Thus, the politicians who want to avoid conflicts with these people should be transparent in there information sharing.

On the other hand, some individuals who usually have minor and major resonsiblities in governments are not willing to reveal information about policies or affairs. This reluctance originates from the idea that most people cannot act logically, because they are get stuck in emotions which is harmful when analyzing and deciding. Their judgmental abilities also influenced by being emotional which is another reason to keep them away from governemental information. Therefore, when sensitive information is leaked and diffused, these people who obsessed with withholding information will become deeply distressed.

However, I think that, regardless of the different opinions about saving or giving information, the essential factor which determines the final policy about information is the type of government or the administration. In other words, there is a slight chance to receive information about policies in a dictatorship probably ruled by a savage leader while the flow of information is easily seen in a real democracy which is not only transparent but invite people to ask publicly about all aspects of the government.

In summary, the freely available information in a society is highly depended on the attitudes and the whole governmental system. Although it is a contradictory issue among groups of people, the governments have the final word in sharing information with their people or withholding it from them.