The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"Two studies of amphibians in Xanadu National Park confirm a significant decline in

the numbers of amphibians. In 1975 there were seven species of amphibians in the

park, and there were abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four

species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species

were drastically reduced. One proposed explanation is that the decline was caused

by the introduction of trout into the park's waters, which began in 1975. (Trout are

known to eat amphibian eggs.)"

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that

could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can

plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author argues that the species of amphibians are endangered in Xanadu national park, for foraging behavior of another animal called Trout which introduced into park’s water. Trout mainly feed on amphibian’s egg which is expressed by the author as the crucial factor behind mass extinction of amphibians since 1975. While seems rational and logical, the argument cannot totally assure readers to believe it, because alternative explanations have not been presented. Through following paragraphs discussed three possible reason which may contribute to the extinction process of amphibians.

First, as it is clear from their names, amphibians are kinds of animals that live and thrive both on land and water so the quality of water and other environmental situations have great impact on their lives which makes them very vulnerable to climate changes. Unfortunately, sine 1975, the year amphibians were enormous, the weather patterns changed which was felt through unprecedented cold or warm periods with severe storms or tornados across the world. Just like human beings influenced, amphibians are not exception so they got weaker and weaker until when their status is named endangered species.

Second, lack of food resources has been the main reason of different extinctions through history. In the case amphibians settling Xanadu Park, a careful examination should be done to discover the kinds of foods and changes in nutrients given to these animals. For example, replacing genetically foods with natural foods in their diet is a deadly action which gradually decreased their population. Thus, the letter to the editor may be incomplete without addressing the issue of food supplies for amphibians.

Finally, according to the letter, the Xanadu national park had plenty of amphibians in 1975 but their population is drastically reduced in 2002. If one studies the history of veterinary science may find some interesting points that solve the mysterious reduction in the number of amphibians. In the 70’s probably veterinarians did not have as much as knowledge and expertise they have today so the amphibians could not receive proper cure and medications which finally created this extinction. Moreover, the neglignet workers of the national park might be blamed, for they did not take care of amphibians. Therefore, the author has to consider human effects on the reduction of amphibians to provide a detailed account of this horrible incident.

All in all, the letter to the editor which proposes an explanation for the reduction of amphibians in Xanadu national park which mainly accuses the introduction of Trout into park’s waters. However, some possible explanations may change the focus from Trout to factors such as climactic changes, lack of food resources and enough nutrients and inadequate medical services to amphibians. By discussing these possible reasons, the author is able to make his reasoning more logical and convincing.