The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers

apartment building to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads on the first five floors of Sunnyside Towers

were modified to restrict the water flow to approximately one-third of its original

flow. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are

not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for

Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month.

Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers

have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, restricting water flow throughout

all the twenty floors of Sunnyside Towers will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered

in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted

result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate

the recommendation.

The letter from the owner of Sunnyside building to its manager discusses the benefits of restricting water flow from showerheads. The owner mentions that people who live in the building accepted this restriction so they need to expand the water limit throughout the building to increase their profits further. Careful examination of content of the letter and shows that the owner has not taken other important aspects into consideration. For example, questions regarding long time effects of low water pressure on the people, the need to buy other necessary equipment to heat the buildings in winter and the possible increase in water usage prices are among the issues against the owner’s recommendation.

The owner stated that no major problems have been reported since the beginning of the restrictive program. However, a few complaints made by people indicate that some of the residents are not willing to have low pressure water at their units which may lead to a great dissatisfaction and disappointment. Residents with such a filling will not tolerate the conditions and probably leave Sunnyside forever So the question here is that What are long term effects of doing this restrictive plan?. By answering this question, the owner can have a better evaluation before formulating the plan.

If they are going to limit the flow of water in showerheads, other devices that need water to work become dysfunctional which has negative consequences to the ownership of the building. For instance, some heating devices use water to provide hot air in the winter and they, but people who live in this building cannot use them since the water pressure is not enough to activate the device. Therefore, the second question is that Does the water restriction policy harm other devices that use water to operate?.

The last concern is about the price of water usage. The owner has to pay attention to the price of water and possible increases to make his recommendation wise and logical. In other words, because he does not know how much will be added to the prices of water, the whole process could be a failure. In other words, restricting the flow of water with aim of gaining more profit does not work since the prices are volatile. Thus, the last question for the owner is that how much will be added to the prices of water usage?.

All in all, the recommendation from the owner to modify showerheads to restrict the flow of water at Sunnyside building to its manager is not complete and reasonable, for the owner did not respond to essential questions whose answers are like substances to enrich to recommendation. The main theme of question include the long time effects of low water pressure, need to buy other necessary equipment that are depended on water and the possible increase in water usage prices.