Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

knowledge of the past and its profund impact on present has long been a debate during centries. The arguement that knowing the past cannot provide help in today's decision making may have its resonable stance in the ever-changing modern world. looking at the nature of human study and human society, one cannot negate the fact that we are experiencing a massive explode of science research and technology after world War II, given affluent material resources and developments. Cell phones and mobile devices, for example, are considered a necessaty for a modern man to survive, was beyond imagination to someone from the early 1900s. this rapid development, along with the theories behind it, has been creating new topics on a daily basis for scientists to dig further. And with more in-depth understanding, it is more likely to find even more topics and areas of study. Under such circumstance, one could argue that it is doing no good for one to look back in the history and try to find a solution on a present-based question.

however, the possible effects of past experience cannot be simply erased. Although it is hard to seek exact or alike answers for questions within the new-born disciplines, it is nevertheless similiar rationality and logical reasoning process when building endeavors in many aspects. one will find that present resembles a lot history, and the process is almost like a recurrent path despite what the content might be of the decision that one has to make. For example, modern Chinese still refer to classic philosophy of confucious when dealing with our modern problems. Though the context of the problems differ largely from confucious' time to ours, it is still worth scrutinized before one make a decision and put it into action.

Moreover, due to the extensive conclusions in history, one may find a solution that well fit in his/her predicament. Most of the time people are trapped in their own mind of thinking, denying potential exposure to ways that encounter of circumvent their dilemmas. knowledge of the past, however, is an excellent source for one to refer to not only because it is relativly eaiser to access compared with begging one's friends or mentors for help, it also elucidite the rationality behind the solution, and even reveals the outcomes of such deeds. this process of feedback where one could obtain direct experience without living it gives way to efficiency from filtering and selecting solutions, even to a point that enables an individual to get prepared for underlying results and arm him/herself with extended manuevers.