The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument of the new vice president of Sartorian needs to be further investigated for it lacks many aspects of supporting pieces within its logical chain. The vice president is new, indicated from the statement, and one cannot deny the possibility that he/she was not in position while the company discontinued the production of the alpaca overcoat line. thus, it may be presumptions that the vice president is giving instead of reality since he/she was not exposed to the situation five years ago. This in turn casts doubts on what the reason lies behind the fact of the discontinuation of the aforementioned production line. although it is indicated by the vice president that the reason was the unability to find a reliable supplier, it could be other factors that contributed to the circumstance as well. For example, alpaca overcoat may not be considered trendy back then, where the consumers did not accept it as much.

it also should be digged deeper regards if the company should resume the production line now. Just because they have found a new fabric supplier is not a reason solid enough to make the decision of such for other contributing components. although equipped with fabric - its raw material- it may still hamper the production and make it less competitive given unsatisfactory production machineary, untrained factory workers, or inefficient assembly lines. To re-operate the production line should be a serious determination after considering all pivotal as well as peripheral factors within the complex industrious setting.

what is more concerning is the expectation of the vice president that once the company puts the alpaca overcoat back on the shelves to sell, they should sell very well. two reasons are offered by the officer, indicating that the market should be avid and desparate to buy a large amount of these overcoats.

Alarmingly, the reasons need further investigation with regards to two issues. First, one needs to confirm that if the demand of such product sustained over the five years. Not being able to buy the product for the past five years does not necessarily mean that the market is thirsty for it when the product is being re-offered. what if the style of alpaca overcoat had long been obsolete and consumers have been purchasing coats of a newer version of designs? Or what if the weather has become warmer and one no longer need a jacket? also, the company's competitor's decision to stop selling these kind of product is possibly due to the out-of-date features of the product itself. thus, instead OF ASsuming that there are larger demand out on the market, the vice president of the company should conduct a thorough market research and scrutinize for other contributors that predominate the direct of the demand-supply relationship.

Lastly, to contend that the company will profit more because of the price raise is absurd and lacks supporting evidence. Even if it is accurate that the selling price of alpaca overcoats is raising, chances are that the cost of the fabric material and labor had increased as well. The margin on the product is not determined only by how much they are selling, but rather the marginal value of the overall cost and the selling price. Under the circumstance where general labor is significantly more expensive than what it was five years ago, it is still possible that the profit on the product will decrease, albeit there is a bump in the selling price.