The following appeared in a letter to the editor of Parson City's local newspaper.

"In our region of Trillura, the majority of money spent on the schools that most students attend—the city-run public schools—comes from taxes that each city government collects. The region's cities differ, however, in the budgetary priority they give to public education. For example, both as a proportion of its overall tax revenues and in absolute terms, Parson City has recently spent almost twice as much per year as Blue City has for its public schools—even though both cities have about the same number of residents. Clearly, Parson City residents place a higher value on providing a good education in public schools than Blue City residents do."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer suggests that Parson City residents pay much more attention to education in public schools than Blue City dwellers because almost double fees invested compared to Blue City. Still, some musing over evidence before taking any action is first very much in order.

The author claims that Parson City puts education higher priority because Parson city invests nearly twice as much as Blue city in education even both of them have the same number of residents and tax incoming. It could be true that the salary of Parson City has a positive attitude toward education and the major of the city put the education as the highest priority in their budget plan. However, the number of the schools presenting in each city is unknown. For example, the number of schools in Parson City be triple time than one in Blue City and the average budget of Parson City received per school is actually lower than that of Blue City. In this case, Blue city has better budget per school and emphasizes more on education than Parson City. The author needs to provide the detailed school number of both cities to get more clear picture and make the argument more convincing.

Besides, the writer claims that higher education budget equals higher value on education in public school. That could be a factor if schools use the budget properly and the students benefit a lot from it. Still, we have no idea about how schools use the money on education and the detailed budget allocation plan should be provided by the author. For example, it is possible that the school in Parson City needs a large amount of money to rebuild the facilities of schools because there was a severe earthquake that happened and caused many buildings to collapse last year. Therefore, Parson City puts almost all of the money on the building reconstruction rather than the faculties, professors and better teaching material, which is really beneficial to pupils. The writer needs to provide evidence about the detailed budget usage to get more clear view to strengthen the argument.

Additionally, the writer declares the fact that twice budget allocated on education in Parson City compared to Blue city and that means more emphasizing on education. That could be right since the number of students in both cities are the same, so the budget allocated per student of Parson City is twice higher than the other. Yet, because we don’t know how many students in Parson City and Blue City, it could be a totally different story that the student number of Parson City is actually 4 times more than the other. Thus, the average distributed money per pupil of Parson City is much less than that of Blue City. The readers can’t believe in the content of the argument before the information about the number of the students in both city is presented.

In conclusion, there is lacking evidence mentioned above and the writer is recommended to provide them to make the argument more cogent.