"We must reduce overhead here at the cafe. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will not open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operation will help save money because we won't be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to assess the reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of Juniper Cafe asserts that they must reduce overhead at the cafe in order to save money. By reducing the amount of hours the cafe stays open, they will be able to remain in business, without having to eliminate jobs. The evidence the owner provides for this assertion is that they will not have to pay for utilities, employee wages, or other operational costs during the hours they are closed. The owner of the Juniper Cafe relies on assumptions with no clear evidence and fails to explain why they need to save money in the first place.

First, the owner assumes that employees will not quit due to the loss of hours. The cafe will not be paying employee wages for the hours they are not open, but what is stopping the employees from getting a new job that will pay them for more hours? It is often true that employees have a job because they need the money. If Juniper Cafe is reducing their hours and thus, paying them less, employees may quit as a result.

Another assumption the owner relies on without providing conclusive evidence, is that there are no other ways to save money without eliminating people's jobs. There has to be some other way the owner could save money, other than cutting hours of operation. By reducing the amount of hours the cafe is open, this may result in a reduced amount of customers that visit the cafe. Instead of saving the cafe money, it could be losing even more money than expected with the loss of customers. From the statement made by the owner, we are left assuming that the cafe needs to save money. The lack of evidence makes it hard to distinguish whether the cafe wants, or needs to save money.

This argument could be further strengthened by including evidence to support the assumptions made in this memorandum. The owner of the Juniper Cafe could start by explaining why the cafe needs to save money in the first place. If the cafe has no need to save money, why do they want to save money? The owner could also talk with the employees and see how this change in scheduling will affect their inclination to work at the cafe. The Juniper Cafe needs to look at all possible outlets of saving money, rather than just cutting back hours of operation. The owner could do some research, or reach out to surrounding local businesses, asking them for tips on how to save money and remain in business.

In conclusion, the author may not be wrong to state that cutting back hours would help save money, but her lack of support of the current situation limits the possible outcomes. The owner must define the scope of the problem, and explain why saving money is so important at this point in time. Next, she must provide conclusive evidence that reducing overhead at the Juniper Cafe will, in fact, save money.