Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

It is said that with great power, comes great responsibility. This is true for anyone, and more so for big corporations that have no lack of

resources and monetary power. Ultimately, the main purpose of corporations is to make as much money as possible, but this should happen

in a responsible manner considering the well being of the society and environment.

In the initial stages, most corporations don't have the financial abilities to look beyond their own expenditure. Hence, they do not have the

capability of performing charitable deeds. However, once they become established, they must start to expand their reach towards benevolent

causes because they have the resources to do what individuals may not be able to do.

Corporations must take note of the effects of their activities on the environment and promote causes that would mitigate the ill effects of

such activities in order to ensure environmental stability and help sustain the activities for a longer period of time. Not only this, efforts

must be taken to continuously change the nature of these activities to prevent permanent environmental damage from occurring in the first place.

Many nations have policies that compel large corporations to engage in social causes that would help uplift certain section of society or help

individuals lead a better life. However, simply doing this for the sake of compliance will not help the cause. Extra effort must be taken to

promote the welfare of people who are not able to take care of themselves.

While corporations should focus their primarily on making as much money as they can, they need to understand that they will not be able to truly

do so in the fullest capacity unless the environment and the society around them is also prospering at a steady rate, for the conditions around

them determine how successful they become.