People's behaviour is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A person’s behaviour is a reflection of his thought process. While these thought processes originate in one’s own mind, they are actually shaped by various other factors which are not of their own making. The prompt suggests that, how people behave is largely determined by factors that they have no control over. I mostly agree with the author of the prompt and argue that how people behave is not solely dependent on a factors of his own making but also other factors that affect a person’s thought process for the three following reasons.

To begin with, people’s behaviour is fundamentally, just a reflection of how they respond to a stimuli. When they are faced with a situation, may it be good or bad, their response depends on several factors like the place they are at, the mood they are in, how they have been taught to respond. For instance, if a person is at a library and he faces a difficult situation, he is naturally going to be softer while speaking and dealing with the issue. The ambience one is in has a significant impact on how the person will react. Even though the person may be of a truculent naturally, if he is in the library or a temple, he is less likely to act in an aggressive manner. Similarly, if a soft and placid person is instigated and made fun of, in public, it is possible that he would react in an aggressive way. One’s surrounding play a huge part in how he/she reacts to a situation.

A person’s behaviour is also determined by how he/she has been taught to respond since his childhood. A lot of times, one’s reaction to happiness or sadness is analogous to what his/her parent’s reaction would be in the same case. This is because, one has seen how their parents react at a very early age, and since that time, he/she is taught to respond to certain situation in a certain way. How one behaves also depends on how his close friends and family behave. If a person has a sophisticated group, he is bound to behave in a sophisticated way because of their influence. While, these factors are not the only factors affecting a person’s behaviour, they have a significant impact.

Finally, a person’s behaviour in any situation also depends on the situation. Often, the situation calls for the person to have an aberrant behaviour. For example, during President Nixon’s rule, United States of America fought a world war. Because of the intensity of the situation, Nixon had to behave in a more dynamic and aggressive way. This however, does not mean that president Nixon was an aggressive person. The situation called for him behaving in an aggressive way, and he did. His behaviour was influenced by the situation rather than his own thought process.

People’s behaviour and how they respond to situation is not only based on their own thinking process but also a myriad of other factors. While, it is impossible to say what affects one’s behaviour with certainty, it is clear that there are many factors that come into play, including some, which originate from one’s own mind, and others over which one has no control.