The effectiveness of a country’s leaders is best measured by examing the well-being of that country’s citizens.

This statement emphasizes when we determine the effectiveness of a country’s leaders, the citizens’ welfare and satisfaction is the best criterion for those circumstances. It seems plausible because any leaders even those of a household cannot be able to neglect the members who they have to lead. However, this statement seems also too generalized to be accepted in all of the circumstances in the world because of the reasons I would like to elaborate at the following essay.

Admittedly, in many countries, the topic is compelling and acceptable those government needs to encourage them for the welfare of national people. Furthermore, the measurement by examing the well-being of a country’s citizens is effective because it can be easily shown by a reliable statistic data. In this case, the economic growth is one of the most important problem related to the people’s well-being. GDP per capita, for example, can be a representative point to discern about which countries are in a prosperous status or suffered in very severe poverty. Even the developed countries such as United States, France, or South Korea, lots of voters have judged the leader’s performance regarding on the economic success during the remainder of the government. To sum up, the measurement by well-being of general citizens is the most important factor to assess the performance of a leadership and very effective because everyone can access the results by just a short numbers.

However, the meaning of effectiveness seems quite different to people in some countries. That word have been used for success of general citizens in many countries, however, in North Korea, it may sound quite quirky and bizzare. North Korean media always report about the dictator’s – Kim Jong Un – strong and charismatic leadership in all the time. Government in the country have concentrated all the national performance to military industries such as programs of ICBM, nuclear powers, and even bio-chemical weapons which threatens the nearby nations in Northeast Asia. Nevertheless the deletrious and pernicuous policies of N. Korea, however, it may be efficient to sustain its regime from extrinsic attacks because even the most powerful country, United States, seems reluctant to take preemptive strikes to the dictatorship. This example sounds very extremely to me, but at least North Korean people have believed the effectiveness of the leadership is not a welfare of all citizens, but the survive of its nations.

Furthermore, the statement seems to be regardless of the other possible factors when determing the effectiveness of the leadership of a country. For example, United States and Japan have been prospering in economic fields, however, those countries have also been a leading country in variety of fields such as science and popular culture. Every people in the world may at least have heard about the moive ‘Titanic’ from Hollywood in Los Angeles. This is a representative case that the cultural influence also can be a factor in determining the effectiveness of a leadership in a country.