The effectiveness of a country’s leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country’s citizens.

Is the effectiveness of a country’s leaders best measured by examining the well-being of that country’s citizens? The speaker claims so. The effectiveness of a country’s leader and the best routine a country taken for the development definitely vary concerning phase of development of the country. I concede that the speaker is right in a considerable range of countries. Otherwise, in my view, there are still some examples out of the range, and their leaders’ effectiveness should be evaluated through other factors. Therefore, an all-sided consideration is needed when deciding precedence.

Think about it. Why does a country need to choose a leader? Many years ago, human beings lived their own lives without the relationship with each other. No one knows the concept of country, and the leaders of the country are nowhere to be found. However, this was a dangerous method for people to live on, because a single illness, or an unnoticed shortage of food could be catastrophic. So the population began to form a union, of course, a union need a leader, so that it could operate stably. And then, countries began to form. If people get together and work together, they can surely avoid lots of risk of getting destroyed, so that they can achieve well-being. And how to work? It depends on the leaders. Now you see, the fundamental function of leaders is guarantee the citizens’ well-being. As far as most countries are considered, I share the same opinion with the speaker.

However, things are totally different in some countries in which citizens basic desire cannot be met. If we still concern about citizens well-being in these countries, we will simply discover that the leaders are unqualified at all. So what is the possible solution for the leaders to help the citizens get rid of poverty? Maybe setting up schools to improve the education condition in order to accelerate technology progress will help. Or maybe exploitation of tourist industry can be a wiser choice. In those countries, the short-term well-being cannot be criteria, and the leader who spends a large amount of money on helping poor families to survive may be foolish. So we would have look at the long-term development of the country.

Similar with the poor countries, the rich ones have their own approach to success, too. Putting expectation of other countries on them does not make sense. What the leaders of the wealthy countries whose citizens are already live in contentment should do is to focus on the future development. For instance, leaders who invest on environmental protection may be insightful, since the citizens can keep will-being a hundred years later. On contrary, leaders who just be interest in profit today may be scolded by their descendants in the future.

In sum, what standard we should use to measuring a country’s leader need to be considered with a lot of factors, such as the phase of development of the state. Different condition leads to different answer.