The effectiveness of a country’s leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country’s citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims the well-being of the people is the best measure of the effectiveness of a country’s leaders. This is true only if the goal of the leaders is about the well-being of the people. It is easy to understand that if the goal is to salvage the economy, such as what Roosevelt did during the Great Depression, the well-being of the people should not be the measure, like no one would deny that Roosevelt was an effective leader. I therefore disagree with the claim.

In one nation, the well-being of its people is not a reliable measure to evaluate the effectiveness of its leaders. Here suppose that the "leaders" in the claim mean the "current leaders" rather than the leaders through the history as a whole. Undoubtedly, it takes time for the general welfare of the people to be improved and sustained. When the system of ensuring the well-being of the people is established, as long as there are no dramatic changes, the situation of the current status of its people is expected to continue, regardless who the leaders are and what the leaders do. For example, nations like the United States, United Kingdom, France, and Germany are developed countries with good systems. The well-being of the people in these countries is well guarded. Does this mean that their current leaders are effective only based on the well-being of their citizens? The answer is no because the well-being of the citizens is result from the accumulated achievements of its leaders and its people ever since the country has been found. Now, as long as there are no dramatic changes, like war and fatal diseases, the existing strong economic foundation, great welfare system, and political freedom will sustain the welfare of their citizens regardless of who are the leaders are. The well-being of the people hence should not be used as the measure of the effectiveness of its leaders.

In addition, leaders of a nation face many tasks regarding all endeavors such as economy, politics, international relationship, culture, education, and many others. The effectiveness of leaders is determined by how these issues of a nation are handled and whether desired outcomes are attained. Take China for instance. One of the objectives of the current president, Xi Jinping, is to diminish the power abuse and corruption among politicians. As the head of China, he had initiated an anti-corruption movement. As a result, the corruption has been greatly suppressed. One may reasonably say that Xi Jinping is an effective leader because of the desired result on anti-corruption though the well-being of its people is not as plausible as its overall strength.

Moreover, look at history which also tells us that the well-being of the people should not be used to measure the effectiveness of the leaders because it is not always the priority of a nation. Take the Civil War for example. The president of that time, Abraham Lincoln, led the war to success and subdue the rebellions who planned to disintegrate the United States. At the time, the top priority for the president to do is sustain the unity of the country. Though the war was catastrophic to its people, the president successfully protected the country and therefore effective. As we can see, the well-being of its people is not always the measure.

The effectiveness of a leader is not a black-or-white question. A leader could be effective on some issues and not so effective on others. It is not reasonable to completely endorse or deny a leader as a whole. Whether a leader is effective should be judged based on the specific goals need to be achieved and the results obtained. The well-being of its people is only one possible goal of many objectives a leader has, and it is the measure only when it is the focus. Otherwise, it should not be the measure.