There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement suggests we should not save endangered animal and plant species at a great cost in money and jobs. I completely disagree with the claim, because if not starting saving endangered species now, more of them will die out. Chain actions will be enacted and the ecosystem will eventually collapse. Human beings will not survive. So humans need to takes what it needs to maintain the biodiversity.

We only have one earth, if it is gone, we will extinct with it, which makes it inane to save the money and jobs. According to BBC, extinction is a natural process due to the law of nature. By natural selection, some species which do not evolve in response to changes extinct. However, the speed of the extinction has been abnormally sped up. The ecosystem and all the species are interdependent, including human beings. The ecosystem is like a building and all the species are like the brick. When many of the bricks are falling off, the building will eventually collapse. Consequently, all bricks lose the value. If we do not save the endangered animals, chain actions will get worse. More species will die and the ecosystem will eventually crash. And we, human being, as a part of the ecosystem will not able to survive alone. in this case, the money and jobs we saved from leaving the ecosystem to collapse will be meaningless. So, humans need to take what it takes to sustain the ecosystem that we live in.

Moreover, we benefit tremendously from the ecosystem in various ways. The services provided by the ecosystem is vital for humans. Taking our very basic needs for an example. We need to eat, drink, and breathe. The ecosystem provides us food, filters water, and purifies the air. Besides, tourism and recreating resorts, provided and bolstered by the ecosystem, are a big part of the economy which produces taxes and jobs. In addition, the ecosystem also serves us in terms of technology, such as the medical value of species. According to BBC, preserving nature is actually a smart investment. In 1997, the biologist Robert and his colleagues estimated the value of the services that the ecosystem provides us was around 33 trillion dollars a year. For comparison, the entire global economy produced around 18 trillion dollars a year. So, the great costs in money and jobs get very well paid off, and it is therefore economically favorable to save endangered species and conserve the biodiversity.

People may be concerned about the money and jobs cost to save the endangered species. The cost of jobs and money is surely a reasonable concern. However, money is supposed to be used to solve issues, such as stimulating the economy, expanding military, and funding research. Just like every other goals, saving our only ecosystem is not less important. It clearly deserves a good share of the budget. As for employment, there are many other effective ways to target the issues, such as promoting education and welfare system. Sacrificing the only ecosystem that we need to live is not the way.

In conclusion, if we do not do what it takes to save the endangered species, chain actions will happen. And our ecosystem will collapse. As a result, human beings will extinguish as well. Everything else, including saved money and jobs, is meaningless.