Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Regarding formal education, some people believe that it free people’s mind and spirit; others believe it tends to restrain the mind and spirit. Both points of view are reasonable in a way; yet, the former one is more closely aligns with mine. What formal education may restrain is the wild imagination of people; however, it provides the foundation for the mind to think of more practical possibilities. Hence, my view is more closely align with that formal education helps free the mind.

Formal education free our mind and spirit. First, formal education frees us from ignorance. Formal education provides us the knowledge base on which we can think of ways of in order to solve problems and achieve our goals. For example, in order to save a patient, a doctor needs medical knowledge, which he has learned from medical school. Without formal education in medical science, one can have imagined whatever he wants, he will unlikely help with the patients. So, formal education free us from ignorance. In addition, formal education free us from limited resources. At school, we learn various ways of finding deeper and wider range of knowledge that we need. By doing so, we are able to get access to unlimited knowledge, which broadens our horizons and boosts our awareness of indefinite possibilities. Moreover, formal education strengthens our skills of critical thinking. We are guided to think of different ways of approaching the same issue and encouraged to wonder all kinds of possibilities. Therefore, formal education provides the mind with the knowledge base, ways of accessing to more resources and skills of critical thinking. Therefore, formal education free the mind with limitless possibilities, which is aligned with my points of view.

On the other hand, formal education may restrain people’s wild imagination. Surely, if give both a five-year-old and an adult an abstract picture, the child would give you all kinds of possibilities. The young mind is full of all kinds of wild imagination. By contrast, the adult would give you answers based his/her knowledge and experience in real life. The difference is partially caused by the educational system. While educators try to provide all kinds of knowledge and skills, they have to follow the curriculum, educational policies, say, NO Child Left Behind, and all kinds of standard such as Common Core Standards. Due to the policies and standards, students have to pass all kinds of test. Along with the journey of learning and testing, students’ mind may be circumscribed by the practical imaginations and solutions. It is true that the wild imaginations could be inhibited, but formal education provides knowledge that promotes people’s imagination and creativity in a more feasible manner so as to solve all kinds of problems in life.

In conclusion, formal education could hinder the wild imagination of people. Nevertheless, formal education provides the mind with unlimited knowledge which promotes the mind to think freely in a more practical manner. Therefore, both points of view are reasonable in a way; yet, mine is more closely align with that education frees the mind.