Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What should be the primary factors taken into consideration for students in choosing fields of study? Clearly, the statement advocates for the prospective lucrative careers. However, considering the inevitable negative effects the suggestion on students and society, it is not smart for universities to actively encourage students to make their choice merely based on a high salary.

A healthy and strong society needs a balance of experts in all fields. If universities actively encourage students to study in fields that are lucrative such as doctors and lawyers, the number of students in these fields will exceed that of the available jobs. Consequently, the unemployment rate will rise causing subsequent social unrest. At the same time, many other fields, which are not as profitable, will be deprived of talents, such as educators and historians. This will be no doubt pernicious to the overall development of any society.

The intended bright future in the statement for students is not promising. Many factors affect how successful one will be such as aptitude, interests, and understanding of success. Take the lawyer career for instance. If a student is not good at reasoning and logic, he will likely not do well in the field. As a result, though the career in itself is lucrative, he probably will not as successful nor earn as much money as the university has hoped. By contrast, if one grounds their fields of study in their interests, there is little doubt that they will make dedicate more time and work to the study which leads to excellence. As a result, success, money, happiness will come along. So, a lucrative career should not be the primary factor for students to choose their fields of study.

One may argue that educational experts know the fields. They therefore can balance the students’ future, a lucrative career and the needs of the society. However, this is a high hope but not practical. They know professional knowledge, but can by no means control other factors such as government policies, the overall development of the society which inevitably brings about new and different needs of professions. For example, some types of well-paid jobs are now getting popular, which however did not exist ten years ago, such as app developer. Plus, it gets more complex when students’ motivations and aptitude are taken into consideration. Thus, universities cannot precisely predict student’s career life.

In conclusion, students have their own interests and the society needs all kinds of professionals. Universities therefore should not interfere with students’ decision in choosing their fields of study.