There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts—especially at a great cost in money and jobs—to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement suggests that nations should not make great efforts to save endangered animal and plant species especially at the expense of money and jobs. However, considering the benefits that humans may lose and the threats faced along with the extinction of these species, there is little doubt that societies will do whatever it takes to save as many species as possible.

We should save endangered species out of moral standards. Species die out due to natural selection; however, the speed is now mush faster than it should be, which does not allow the extinct species time to adapt to the ever-faster changing environment. Human activities are believed to be blamed. While making the use of and affect virtually all species, it is not right to the endangered species to disappear.

In addition, the ecosystem is a chain, and no species stand alone. The extinction of one kind can cause the collapse of the micro-ecosystem that it lives in, which will consequently affect the macro system. For example, say, due to water pollution, the weed in a lake is in danger. If not being saved, it would extinguish. As a result, the species who feed on the weed will also die out as well as their predators. One may argue that no species only feeds on one kind of food. Nonetheless, the example only talks about one single species. The pollution could put many other species in danger. Add them all up, it is not surprising that the whole ecosystem will be threatened if societies do not save as many endangered species as possible, even if it means a great cost of money and jobs.

Moreover, the benefits of saving endangered species and maintain the biodiversity overweigh the cost of saving them. Many species have great medical or technological value, which, if we leave them to extinct, will be lost with the disappearance of the animals or plants before human have the chances to discover it. By contrast, preserving the endangered species may help us develop medicine to curative diseases and advanced technology to bolster the economy, which will improve the well-being of the human being as well as the job market. Hence, in a long run, saving endangered species can bring about more money and more job opportunities.

In conclusion, the endangered species are not the only side that benefits from the efforts made by a society to save them, so do humans. We get much more out of it than what it costs including money and jobs.