Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Should it be mandatory for all students to take a variety of courses other than their major studies? The statement is obviously positive on this questions. However, considering the negative impact the proposed action may have on both the universities and students, instead of requiring every student to take any courses outside the field, universities should make it optional.

Some students do not have time to extra time to take courses outside their major studies. To financially support their study, students very often need to work one or more part-time, if not full-time, jobs, which occupies a considerable amount of time. Additionally, students have other activities requiring time such as school meetings, group projects, social life, and exercise. Look at this way, time could be a critical issue for students to attend to extra courses. At this time, if students are forced to take up extra workload, they will do well in neither these extra-curricular courses nor the major courses. As the major studies is students’ primary goal, extra courses other than major studies can be pernicious.

In addition, as students have their own educational plans and interests, the courses required to take are oftentimes not as wished. To complement their prospective career goals and obtain certain specialized knowledge, many students are clearly aware of what courses to take and what not. For example, the career goal of a student majoring in Education is to teach immigrant English language learners. He is interested in taking courses relating to cultures and various foreign languages. If the school comes in and requires the students to take courses concerning behavior management and how to teach science or to take more than they desired, the students’ plans and interests will be violated.

One may argue that knowledge does not stand alone and being multi-disciplinary is critical. For example, for students in Physics, they will need the knowledge of math to be able to do well in the field. Surely, there is some knowledge of different fields are closely related, and the lack of one will greatly affect the other as in the aforementioned example. Nonetheless, the knowledge of different fields vitally dependent on each other are considered as and have already been included in the major studies while the courses are designed. Take a look at the aforementioned example, the necessary math knowledge will be included in the major courses. The courses outside of the field mentioned in the statement suggest those that are not vital to the major studies. They therefore will not exert any life-or-death impact on the major studies and should not be mandatory.

In conclusion, one will never get enough knowledge, and it is beneficial to be knowledgeable in various fields. However, for a student, his major studies are the priority. In addition, students in the same major may have different interests and educational goals. Schools should not require them to take a fixed number of certain courses. Rather, they should provide sufficient advising to students so that they have freedom in taking extra courses.