Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

After undergoing a marathon journey from primary to high school and then to university, students are confronted by another dilemma: how to strike a balance between their own major and other fields. A similar quandary must have perplexed educator for decades as they grappled with designing university courses. Requiring every students to take a variety of class outside their major is plausible and convincing since it could facilitate the academic performance and comprehensive development of students. However, this recommendation may be counterproductive under some circumstances or even lead to disadvantageous consequences.

First, the knowledge gained from other field can contribute to innovative approaches to understanding the majors if there are some correlation between them. For example, through establishing a solid foundation in various advanced math courses, students majoring economics may find abundant economics theories more accessible and are capable of utilizing them in a more flexible way. In addition, except from the specific knowledge learned in the courses outside the major, students can also earned main methodologies which bind different field together. For supporting examples, we can no further turn to various social science field, which share the analogous methodologies such as quantitive and qualitative research. By transferring a methodology from one field to another, students are able to understand the essence of both fields and may bring up creative ideas and more profound understanding.

Second, even if the courses are not close correlated with the major, the recommendation can also promote the students well-rounded development and open their horizons. Students equipped with holistic capabilities in diverse field learned in the school can better accustom themselves to diverse work in the future as well. In modern society, we are not surprised to encounter a professional biologist who is also capable of delivering a logical and interesting speech on TED, not will it shock us when a business man stepped into the politics. An abundance of these generalists demonstrates the very advantage of a mastery of comprehensive skills and expertise. Instead of focusing on a narrow scope in their major, students can broaden their minds and come to be more competitive in the job market.

Requiring students to take various of class leads to several advantages as mentioned before, however, this can be jeopardized by some circumstances-which go beyond students’ schedules and teaching resources available to them. Undergraduates also have too much on their plates, from academic workload to social activities and to internships. Adding more classes unrelated to their major can be the last straw, which leads to the insufferable stress and hampering their study in their major. At the same time, it is not difficult to think about the diverse background of the students enrolled in the same class after implementing this recommendation. Professors have to pay more attention to balance students with divergent skill sets and background knowledge, which can hinder the quality of the courses.

In conclusion, it is generally beneficial for students to be required to take various of class. However, the school officials should also pay attention to the students’ schedule and teaching resources. It would be much better to give students discretionary to decide how much courses to take outside their major and let the professor to control the class capabilities at the same time.