Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It's better complete a project and then start another one than to do several things at the same time.

Nowadays, people often find themselves having too much on their plate. Students are juggling their schoolwork and extracurricular activities. Adults are busy with their job responsibility and family obligation. Some people argues that working on several tasks at the same time is advisable in the increasingly hustling life. However, I think it is better to achieve the tasks one by one.

First, completing the projects simultaneously harms efficiency. Multitasking seems to save time. However, when working on several tasks at once, such as talking on the phone, checking your email and writing a report, you can lose the focus required to adequately complete one item. Too many distractions break your concentration, which requires more time to come back to one task, find where you left off, and try to recreate your thought pattern. On the other hand, single tasks guarantee concentration and allow us to maximum our effort to deal with the project.Therefore, one task at a time paradoxically saves more time than multitasking.

Second, completing the projects together destroy quality. Every time I tried to finish other tasks while cooking, such as reciting new English words, it always ended up in a chaos. I still remembered the scene when large bubbles formed and spilled over the sides, or a fully burned pot of rice smokes up the entire house and sets off the smoke detectors. What's worse, I did not, in fact, achieve the goal I had in mind except cooking. Constantly performing many tasks at the same time will take the toll on the projects by bombarding our brains with too much information and slowing them down. During the constant task-switching process, our brains are very likely to forget some small but important details and also make it more difficult to organize thought and filter out irrelevant information, which contributes to projects’ failure or low quality in the end.

Admittedly, it is understandable that people try to do several tasks at the same time. It gives them an illusion of somehow saving time. For example, I sometimes try to finish my homework when listening to the lecture. Or I try to watch some videos online course when I do some exercises. However, the real reason behind these behaviors is because I wait until the last minute to work on the tasks. I have no choice but to accomplish them concurrently. It actually leads to a high level of stress and leaves me feeling mentally exhausted. Hence, multitasking, sometimes, is the last choice we have and the situation we don't want to face. If I had made the best use of time in the beginning, I wouldn’t leave me in such a difficult situation. Simple tasking in the beginning is the most comfortable and effective way.

Multitasking can seem like an advantage, but constantly performing several tasks at once can lead to a drop in productivity and quality. It also leads to high level of stress and discomfort. Simple tasking may be the only shortcut for us.