When you have been friends with someone for a long time, is it important for you to continue the friendship even if that person does something you don't like?

Human is social animals. We all need friends to accompany with us. However, if our long-time friends do something we dislike, some people argue that we should stop being friends with them. However, I think we should keep an open mind and still maintain our friendship.

First, a conflict for once should not impede our long time friendship. Friendship can be easily destroyed by many factors such as demographically division or losing the contact between each other. Therefore, having a friend for very long time can be a very precious experience for everyone. Why should we give up our friendship just because our friend does something we don't like? Take me as an example. Recently, I got furious about my 10-year friend as she was late for about one hour, and I care much about punctuation. However, when I went back to school, so many memories appeared in my mind. I remembered so many times she helped me to wait in lines to buy the soy milk or the time when we encouraged each other to finish running 800 meters Thus, as long as she called me to apologize, I forgave her immediately.

Second, friends should tolerate each other.Everyone is unique so it is very common that friends will have disagreements out of their different opinions and values. The friendship should be maintained on the basis that we can accept our difference. For example, my friend is pretty fascinated about one pop star. However, in my view, I think he has no singing abilities and his acting is awkward and embarrassing. Actually, I always think that people who are in fond of this pop star have pretty bad taste. when she told me she became the fan, I was extremely shock However, it doesn't affect our friendship except that I sometimes make jokes on her taste and she will argue back in a relaxing way. Being friends, we should accept our friends choice and interests, balancing that with our own feelings.

Admittedly, sometimes, our friends may do something that we cannot tolerate at all. For example, if they violate some moral principles or break the laws, it can be very serious and we should think deeply about whether to keep our friendship. However, if we view from another angle, is it very necessary for us to support our friends and help them to correct their behaviors. I believe we don't make friends unconditionally and we will evaluate them before becoming the friends, especially for friends for a long time. We should be confidence that they have the ability to choose the right path and they are not a horrible person. Also, they are in desperate need of our help now. As friends, we should not give up or betray her but to accompany her to overcome the dark and difficult time.

All in all, we should stay close with friends even if they do something we don't like.