Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When you have been friends with someone for a long time it is important for you to continue the friendship even if that person does something you don’t like.

What is the main cornerstone that helps us cement and maintain a long-lasting friendship? Whenever this question arises, a general controversy erupts among people. Some people assert that it is of vital importance for us to tolerate our friends even if they have made something we don't like. As far as I am concerned, I hardly concur with this idea, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, tolerating the problems caused by your friends blindly will trigger even worse outcomes sometimes, and at that time it is advisable to break this relationship as soon as possible. To illustrate, your friends did something that disobeys the laws, and meanwhile, you are a law-abiding citizen. If you cannot persuade your friends to give up their illegal behaviors, you had better stop the relationship with them since you and your friends no longer share the same values and views of the world. If your friends always do something that hurt others' feelings and emotions, such as cheating on their girlfriends or boyfriends and intimate family partners. Although they don't do anything that exerts emotional traumatic effects on you, their actions still vividly demonstrate that they overlook others' virtues and values. This indicates that they may not have the ability to distinguish good and evil, right and wrong, which may lead to more immoral behaviors in the future.

In addition, we should also pay attention to the behaviors of our friends that really hurt us physically and mentally. At that moment, escaping from terrible relationships can be a wise choice because the foundation of the relationship has been damaged, and mutual trust will not appear anymore. For example, I used to play with one of my best friends, Lucy, when I was in high school. Since we were enduring too much pressure caused by parents and teachers at that time, we easily got upset and depressed. Instead of helping each other equally, Lucy always asked me for help without lending a hand to me whenever I met problems with my studies. Even worse, when she went to the edge of collapse owing to her bad grades, she always pushed me and hit me on the playground to vent her emotions. When I also got awful exam results, she would laugh at me for a long time. Eventually, I chose to stop this relationship for the sake of my mental and physical health.

Admittedly, some people attach great importance to long-lasting friendships, and maintain that tolerance of friends' weaknesses and mistakes should be emphasized if you want to keep the tree of friendship green forever. But I harbor the idea that not all friendships deserve to be treasured since people are always changing. Sometimes, if we are brave enough to stop toxic relationships, we are granted the chance to possess a better companion.

In a nutshell, I definitely don't advocate continuing the relationship if your friend does something that you cannot bear. Although no one is an isolated island and we all need accompanies, leaving immoral friends away may be a better choice under some certain circumstances.