Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student’s field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education is certainly the hot-button issue of the moment, with national policies such as Rae to the Top and No Child Left Behind changing how pedagogical practices are implemented, how academic success is measured, and how learning arises. At the heart of the debate over the future of higher education is the question broached in the prompt: should universities require every student to take a variety of courses outside their fields of study? The essence of attending a university is to immerse oneself within an academic ambience in which one can relish the pursuit of profound knowledge and the exchange of scintillating ideas and conversations with other intellectuals. It appears sensible, therefore, to demand students at universities to get out of their comfort zones and take courses from a wide breadth of academic disciplines. However, to assert that such an idea should be applied to every single university student is overly categorical, with a host of factors or variables left undiscussed for the merits or the potential downsides of such argument.

The gist of university education is to mold a well-rounded individual who can, after leaving school, engage in independent and critical thinking, without guidance and scaffolding from professors or teachers or mentors. University education gives students an opportunity to hone upon critical thinking skills to tackle national and international agendas with innovative thinkings. Such a high-minded purpose therefore galvanizes universities to promulgate students not being circumscribed within their own fields of study. Instead, their coursework should be composed of a wide variety of disciplines. In addition to training students to become an independent thinker and doer, universities in the contemporary world have recognize the paramount importance of inter-disciplined intellectual engagement. University students in the past were wont to delve into their chosen majors and graduated from the school as a pedantic expert of that given field. Such arrangement or decision was deemed meet, since the interconnectedness between different fields was anything but flimsy. However, as the world enters into a globalization era and provinciality has ceased to be an option, advertising that university students should take a variety of courses outside their academic interests seems all the more rational and sensible. Such can be best corroborated by the fact that in the twenty-first century, stellar or critical academic breakthroughs stem from scholars who manifest fusion of different fields of knowledge. Take Biology. With a massive amount of genomic data engendered, DNA and RNA sequences, since the inception of the Human Genome Project, conventional biology alone could no longer accommodate or take good advantage of this sea of information. However, with the aid of algorithms from mathematics and informatics from computer science, biologists have devised better apparatuses to process and tackle overwhelming amount of genetic data, allowing them to apprehend the different functions that various cells and tissues possess and the roles that they play. Such a curricular design gives students an avenue to keep abreast of a broad spectrum of knowledge, thereby insulating them from benightedness.

However, to asseverate that diverse learning should become a requirement for all university students is far from feasible given that there are a host of practical factors that might defeat the purposes of the seemingly salubrious effects of diverse learning. For instance, an English literature student might find himself plodding through physics class and suffering for doing convoluted calculations. In this case, he might end up feeling isolated from the class since he is an outside of that field. The learning experience would be a travail. Confidence will be lost on him, and his learning sabotaged. Some dissents might counter this claim by arguing that this example simply applies to diametrically different fields of study, such as English and physics. Nevertheless, even with relevant majors, having every student take off-major courses may not seem a good option. The rationale is a pragmatic one. Students might overload their schedules, feeling overwhelmed. After all, even with the concepts that are related to one another, they are still inherently different. Students still need to allocate a huge chunk of time into acquiring similar yet dissipate knowledge, which might in turn become very taxing. Another practical concern is that not all faculty members and professors can support this kind of interdisciplinary learning. As one knows, professors when in graduate school tend to narrow down their academic interests into a specific area or domain; therefore, though knowledgable, they are by no means polyglots. Accordingly, without appropriate faculty members that can impart interdisciplinary knowledge or support students’ diverse learning, the benefits of taking courses outside students’ fields of study would be compromised.

In sum, at first blush, taking various courses outside of one’s field of study would automatically engender many merits and advantages conferred on students; however, such an unfair, ideal generalization is too hasty as one needs to seriously take into account a variety of factors, ideals, demands, and even reality or case-by-case conditions, before jumping into an categorically assertive conclusion