During the past year, workers at our newly opened factory reported 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than workers at nearby Panoply Industries. Panoply produces products very similar to those produced at our factory, but its work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers are significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents. Panoply's superior safety record can therefore be attributed to its shorter work shifts, which allow its employees to get adequate amounts of rest."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The arguer claims that it is the shorter work shifts that attributes to the superior safety record in Panoply Industries. However, the facts in this conclusion could be relied on several alternative explanations, which leave the authors’ argument unfounded.

Firstly, the fact that the on-the-job accidents in newly opened factory could be caused by the workers with improper job training, while the employees in Panoply have regular training about safety. If the workers are much younger than those in Panoply in the average, and the factory provides insufficient amount of training courses about safety, facilities manufaction and so on, then most employees in new factory would be more likely to cause on-the-job accidents, since they lack enough mature job skills as well as the attention to job safety .

Secondly, the reason why Panoply have unsurpassed safety record is that it owns advanced facilities, and gleaned strong financial support in updating producing techniques. There is no doubt that facilities with high quality play a crucial role in during the production. It is likely that Panoply Industries have adequate budgets from the local authority and its shareholders, then it would alter the outmoded facilities, even recreate the producing process. Nevertheless, the newly opened factory might suffer from shortage of funding and business partners, and the leadership are busy with dealing with other emergent issues, not to mention the improvement of the facilities and safety training to its employees.

Lastly, the fact that the outstanding safety record in Panoply Industries could be explained by the larger amount of employees, which have a significant difference compared with the new factory. Since the newly-founded factory might have plentiful job vacancy due to the imbalanced supply-and-demand in the job market, the workers in Panoply are greater than it saliently. For instance, there are over 30,000 workers in Panoply Industries, while the number of employees in the new factory only accounts for its 10 percent. In this case, if the later has 10 on-the-job accidents every year, then the rate of workers who have accidents is much larger than the former with the same number of injured employees during the production. Either of the scenarios, if true, would render the author’s proposed explanation unconvincing.

In conclusion, although it is reasonable to believe that the experts’ suggestions about the fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers, there are multiple possible explanations that can account for the facts mentioned in the argument.