Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The arguer claims that, for providing clear guidance for students, colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses. Moreover, generally, college students prefer to follow directions instead of making their own decisions. Although the claim and reason might hold true in some degree, I tend to disagree with them.

Firstly, since different student have different backgrounds, which means that they glean various education when growing up, leading to diverse ways of thinking. For instance, a student brought up in a single-parent and poor family might be more independent due to the lack of family support. On the contrary, a student living in a wealth family might get used to follow directions by his parents, since he has accustomed with well-prepared supports of the family. Thus, we could not draw a conclusion that college students are more willing to follow guidance rather than to make decisions on their own.

Secondly, without considering about the specific circumstance, the speaker assumes that college students would prefer to follow directions in every condition. There is a great possibility that, when making different kinds of choices in studying and daily life, college students could have controversial performances. If they would like to attend some entertainment activities, such as going to the concerts or watching movies, then they would be more likely to ask for guidance to learn about the latest trend, and follow the advises. However, when it comes to career planning, they would mainly follow their heart to seek jobs which meet their interests and capabilities. On this occasion, the argument seems unwarranted.

Lastly, the policy of specifying all required courses while eliminating elective courses to provide clear guidance for students betrays the requirement of encouraging exploring, which is one of the most critical tents in colleges and universities. Compared with the core target of high schools, the one of colleges and universities is give stronger support to students to explore whatever they are interested in and broaden their horizon. However, if we specify the courses to students, it might well happen that students would be faced with more boundaries in learning, especially for those who have already found their goals.

To sum up, I concede there are reasonable aspects in the claim and reason, however, either of scenarios, if true, could rival the arguments dramatically. Therefore, the colleges and universities should take these circumstances into acoount when designing courses.