In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your

position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The arguer claims that those in power are supposed to leave after five years in any field, such as business, politics and government. Although it is reasonable in several perspectives, I tend to disagree with this argument.

Firstly, under this policy, it might well happen that there is no suitable person to take the place of the former after five years. For example, in some small agencies which are set up newly, the number of staff is limited. In this case, it might be difficult to change the power every five years. For most most growing firms, the first exigent issue is about how to develop the business, rather than change the leaders in five years.

Secondly, there is a great possibility that the reinvention started from the old leaders would be stemmed and forsaken by the new ones. Since most strategies are long-term goals which usually take more than five years to achieve, it is dramatically critical to keep the policies as a continuous task. Therefore, if the firms implement the policy in changing the power regularly, the strategies could not be applied efficiently. On this occasion, it would suffer from the waste of funding, human resources and even clients.

However, we could not ignore some benefits of implementing this policy. For instance, if the old power promoted outdated strategies before the replacement, then the new leaders would alter the old rules and policies during the revolution, such as opening new markets, rebranding, and producing new products. Moreover, in some fields with rapid development, such as education and government, it is necessary to replace the old leaders with the new ones, so that the government could decline the risk of corruption, and maintain the timeliness of their polices. However, in most fields, it is unnecessary to set aside those in power every five years, otherwise it would do harm to the steady running of its business.

To sum up, there might be some compelling consequences under this policy, yet the negative consequences are much significant. Thus, we should not consider about changing the power in any field every five years without ruling out above circumstances.