Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguer claims that Omega University are supposed to terminate student evaluation of professors so that the graduates can have better performances while hunting jobs. Though this argument makes sense in some circumstances, it fails to provide several convincing evidences.

Firstly, the evidence which is needed to evaluate is that the difference between the past and currency is not significant. Since there has been plentiful changes in not only education fields but also in workplace over fifteen years, the hiring requirements would be replaced by evaluating multiple aspects of the candidates nowadays. Therefore, the potential employers will no longer take the grades into account, on the contrary, they might consider aspects that are more practical, such as personal innovations or projects, previous experiences in related fields and so on.

Secondly, the potential employers fail to give us the evidence that the employers consider the grades of the graduates as the first element in hiring tyros. It is true that the grades can give a brief introduction about ones’ learning ability, while it cannot cloak the weak points of the individuals, such as communication ability, quark characteristics and improper manners. There is a great possibility that a graduate with lower scores performs better in the interview because of his outstanding presentation skills, leaving quantities of graduates with higher grades behind. If the Human Resources departments in the firms take the graduates’ grades at first place instead of their working abilities which matches the hiring requirements, then we can draw a conclusion that the students in Omega University have been adversely affected by their grades when finding jobs.

Lastly, even though assessment of the employers is grade-oriented, another evidence needed is that the grading system in Omega University has only one formula which gives the considerable proportion in students’ grades in the class, while remains a little part for their after-class performances. That is to say, the advantages of those students with rich experience in clubs or volunteer activities cannot be shown in their grades, then the potential employers are less likely to learn about their performances when looking at their scores. In addition, the argument assumes that the university does not provide endorsements for the graduates who are seeking jobs. With some credentials from the university, the students can also convince the employers by showing related skills, hence they are more suitable for the jobs than other competitors.

To sum up, without ruling out these evidences, the argument is so unwarranted that cannot convince us.