Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The arguer claims that everyone in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws, while disobeying and resisting unjust laws. I concede the reasonable parts of this argument, however, I tend to disagree with this point of view.

Firstly, there is no doubt that laws play a significant role in improving the justify of a society, so that every citizen are supposed to follow the just laws to preserve the society equality. However, not only just laws have critical effects on creating the justify atmosphere and arising the public’s awareness of justify, but also the unjust laws can achieve the same goal. For instance, for some altruism people, it might be crucial to kill those with adverse criminal behavior as punishment, which they consider as “unjust laws”, then they would like to be opposite to the implement of related laws in the name of “protecting human rights of living”. Therefore, with less serious disobeying rules and laws, it might trigger to more and more events that destroying the safeguard in the public area, especially in schools, hospitals and transport hubs by those anti-social person.

Secondly, if the individual obeys the unjust laws, then the development of justify in the society would be stemmed, since these laws are born to protect some particular parts among the public, such as the upper class, the rich, and the power. Nevertheless, the laws manifest the force in resolving the imbalance developing issues in the society. It is likely that in the short term, the results of obeying (30 min) unjust laws might be mainly shown in benefiting several groups of people, while in the long term, the consequences could be much lucid in involving every person’s daily life. Think about the poverty-related policy in China. The government put out the laws and rules about animating the economy in some areas with more advanced resources first, and then let them give a hand to those poor areas lacking resources. Although it seems that it is unjust to champion the industrialization in few areas, it did have dramatic prosperity in not only these areas, but also undeveloped places. Thus we cannot draw a conclusion that unjust laws should be against by the public.

To sum up, without ruling out these circumstance above, the argument fails to convince us that the individuals should obey just laws, and disobey and even resist unjust ones.