Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The arguer claims that all faculty in the colleges and universities are supposed to spend time working outside the academic world in professions related to the courses they teach. Considering various consequences of this policy, I tend to agree with this view.

Firstly, there is a possibility that the faculty who take part in doing professional projects with companies relevant to their fields will catch the latest trend, which promotes their performance in teaching. For instance, the marketing professors working in the think tank of FMCG companies have a great access to the current business cases, therefore, the students can learn about how the knowledge can be turned to marketing strategy in real business world. Moreover, those cases also provide plentiful working requirements details in particular working fields, so the students can explore their interests in this area and make proper career plans with the suggestions of their professors.

Secondly, it might happen that the faculty can obtain more salary that improves better financial support to their life and researches. There is no doubt that employee working outside the academic fields as a faculty from colleges or universities can have higher income than normal employees in the same department, since they are so professional that can quickly handle with tasks without much training. However, in some countries, especially in the developing countries, the basic average salary of faculty in colleges or universities are much lower than public expectation. In this case, some teachers choose to cooperate with firms for extra incomes to support their families. In addition, working beyond the academic world in their relevant professions offers more opportunities in networking with no only the authority of the companies, but also the scholars in fields, which may give a hand in their future researches, such as data for analysis and participants for experiments.

However, there are several adverse consequences we cannot ignore. On one hand, if the faculty choose to work outside their academic world, their time for teaching and researching may decline dramatically, then they will have less time communicating with their students, which shrewd their learning experience. On the other hand, since not every faculty is suitable for working as an employee in firms due to their tarctue taciturn personality, they will feel not at ease even perform worse in their workplace rather than do research and teach students in colleges or universities.