The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguer claims that the teachers of the high schools in Sanlee should assign homework less than twice a week, since the students in Marlee benefits from the less homework per week. However, the arguments is unwarrented with several flaws and lack specific evidence to evaluate.

Firstly, one evidence we need is that there is no significant difference in education resources and qualities between the students in Marlee and Sanlee. It is likely that Marlee students have better education due to more financial support and better urban development, while Sanlee students mainly grow up in poverty which less education resources because of the undeveloped economy circumstance. Perhaps quantities number of high school students in Marlee have already learned the major part of courses in senior schools, therefore, they do not receive more homework assignments with solid learning bedrock about the knowledge. In this case, they earn better scores at ease. On the contrary, since the students in Sanlee have less advantages in education, most of them would suffer from tough courses in high schools, so that it is necessary to assign more frequent homework to assure their learning outcomes.

Secondly, the arguer fails to provide the evidence that the amount of homework assignments in math and science has a directe effect on the gardes and students' performances. Indeed Marlee students performs better not only in grades but also the rate of graduate. Nevertheless, we cannot attribute the frequent homework assignments to the Sanlee students' weaker performances, since the assignments in math and science disparate dramatically with other subjects. There is a great possibility that Sanlee students performs better in arts and literatures than Marlee students, while the teachers in Marlee report homework assignments more often than those in Sanlee. In addition, the survey in Marlee might be a particular example, yet the data in recent years of other districts have shown that there is no crucial connection between homework assignments and students' grades.

Lastly, another evidence which is needed is the teachers in two districts have similar teaching abilities. If the teachers in Sanlee are younger than the teachers in Marlee in the average level, then they might lack enough teaching experience, which triggers to weaker performances in communicating with students, preparing courses and so on. Moreover, given that most science and math teachers in Marlee have better education background, they grasp the knowledge much precisely than those in Sanlee. Even if the high school teachers in Sanlee assign less homework, we cannot take it for granted that their could handle well with the students' learning stituation, especially for those with weaker learning abilities.

To sum up, without ruling out these specific evidence, the arguer cannot convince us to consider about this suggestion.