Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The arguer claims that the government funding for arts should be suspended when a great number of citizens are suffering from hunger or unemployment. I tend to agree with this argument.

Firstly, there is a great possibility that there are plentiful nations lacking enough resources and financial support for the prosperity, especially for those undeveloped countries, such as ones in Africa. In this case, the most adverse social issue which is needed to be considered firstly is the imbalance of the poverty and the rich, including the problem of hunger or joblessness. If the governments cannot pay attention to solve this tough problem, then the public would be unsatisfied with the power, which may trigger to the convulsion of the society. Due to the limit funding, it is reasonable for the governments to cut down some expenditure in some fields, such as public service in culture. Therefore, the financial budget for supporting arts industry is supposed to be sacrificed for improve the living standard of the public.

Moreover, due to the significant difficulty of solving the problem of starvation or unemployment, the government with inadequate financial budgets are supposed to choose the most efficient way to deal with it. Therefore, adjusting the investment in other fields which import is not so obvious in the short turn can release the financial pressure in helping people in hunger and who are jobless. Obviously, the arts cannot have more current effects on the citizens’ daily life, for it mainly includes quantities of style which are too austere to be accepted by the public. People with less education would probably consider it is unnecessary to build an art museum instead of a factory that promotes endemic economy. Hence the policy of supporting the arts first rather than putting money into declining the rate of hunger or joblessness could be rejected by numerous practical citizens.

However, we should not ignore that, in some circumstance, the policy that suspending funding for arts because of the problem of hunger or unemployment is unnecessary. For instance, the authority should consider provide more jobs by supporting the development of the arts industry, such as building art museums, constructing arts centers, and investing arts-related tourism. Then the job-seekers can have more opportunities in receiving offers, so that the issue of unemployment will be released. In addition, the government can spend budgets in some arts activities and programs which connect with food-saving, to arise the aware of saving food in the society, since wasting food plays a critical role in triggers to the hunger. Without ruling out these circumstance, we cannot draw a conclusion that the government should suspend the financial support for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

To sum up, while sacrificing the arts for giving financial support to the hungry and the joblessness has several flaws, it is indispensable to implement this policy, since it benefits the public and promotes the social welfare.