Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning f

Nowadays, many countries encounter overpopulation problems, and their populations face a lack of food or jobs. The prompt says that when there is a problem of citizens being hungry and unemployed, nations should suspend government funding for art. In my opinion, this is not a suitable way to handle hungry and unemployed people. In other words, I strongly disagree with this argument for two reasons.

To begin, significant numbers of people are suffering from a lack of food and are unemployed; they are not suffering from a lack of entertainment, morality, or anything related to the arts. When normal people are hungry, they need some food to calm their hunger, or when people are unemployed, they need to be hired by employers. I suppose that food and jobs will be the first priorities when a significant number of people are hungry and unemployed. They will not need art, or they will set art as a lower priority. In other words, art cannot replace food when people need food. So, suspending government funding for the arts is not a direct approach to calming their hunger or unemployment. In fact, it seems to be suspending the money in the wrong way. If the government spends on art, the money spent on food may decrease, which may cause more severe hunger.

However, some people may argue that the arts can create jobs and make money for the citizens. I can not dispute this statement. Yet, not all people have a gift for art. It seems to me that if people draw a picture to make money, that picture should have value and be beautiful. Not all people can do it, especially when a significant number of people are encountering unemployment. There are only a few people who could draw or sculpt for jobs. If the government suspends the budget for art, there will be only a few people whose gift for art is excellent who benefit from this money, and a lot of people will be continuously suffering from unemployment.

In conclusion, some people may say that the government should spend on art when citizens are hungry or unemployed. What I explained above could make the argument of some people sound unreasonable because money will not help people have food, or the money will help only a few people be employed. Therefore, I argue that the government should spend on increasing the employment rate and importing foods from other countries, for example, to cope with this problem.