The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company."When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine.

The arguer claimed that it would be a mistake that XYZ company used Walsh Personnel Firm instead of Delany, since only half of the workers laid off by XYZ found jobs with Walsh eight years ago, and Walsh had smaller staff and less branch offices. In addition, the Walsh’s clients took more time than Delany’s to find jobs.

Firstly, the assumption which needed to evaluate the argument is that the current situation remains the same as eight years ago. In this case, the workers laid off by XYZ have similar working skills and job-seeking abilities, such as computer application, business communication and cooperation abilities. If the employees have better trainings in several development courses in XYZ, then they are more likely to perform better in finding jobs after being laid off. Maybe XYZ was just a developing company eight years ago, however, nowadays, it have become one of the top companies in its field with the staff of higher quality.

Secondly, the arguer failed to assume that the numbers of staff and branch offices have significant influence in enterprise. There is a possibility that if the staff in Delany work in low efficiency and always put off their tasks, and the branch offices do not perform well in the market. On the contrary, most employees in Walsh may be elites with better education backgrounds and stronger working abilities, which contributes to the better service for those laid-off staff in XYZ.

Thirdly, another assumption we need is that the time for clients to find jobs have a connection with the firms’ service . If it turns out that the clients have some personal issues during hunting jobs, then they would give up some opportunities, so the job-seeking process would be delayed. Moreover, perhaps they are prudent and critical in chosing offers, and it takes time to make final decision. It is also perfectly possible that plenty of companies they applied for with the advice of Walsh have longer applying times and more complex steps than Delany.

To sum up, the arguer fails to substantiate his claim due to the evidences cited do not lend strong support to what he maintains.