Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The arguer claims that it is useless to learn about the past for people to make significant decisions nowadays. I tend to disagree with this argument.

Firstly, the past events can provide plenteous experience when making vital decisions not only in personal life, but also in governing nations. For instance, the Chinese government learned from the evolution in 1910s-1940s, thus the power chose to apply a structure of community as a bedrock of governing, which was suitable for the nature of the society at that time-a farming society without advanced industrialization. Moreover, with the strict the one-kid policy in China after 1980s, couples nowadays prefer to take more time to consider whether to have another baby. Because giving birth cursorily can lead to an adverse punishment in fine and even in their jobs according to related cases in the past, the novice couples will not disobey the roles in having children.

Secondly, considering about the past when making decisions can reduce and even avoid the unnecessary loss. For example, before launching a new product, companies require to check the selling performance in various markets in the past, as well as their competitors’. If they failed to make a great profits in several market, it is necessary to think it twice whether to sell the new products in those places due to their previous unsatisfying performance, otherwise it might face a similar situation again. In this case, learning from the past contributes to saving the cost efficiently.

However, we cannot ignore the flaws in depending on the experience in the past. On one hand, when focusing too much on the past, it is likely that we will be trapped in didactic thoughts, which means there is less flexibility our decision. For instance, if a food company insists on putting most of the advertising budgets in radio programs due to the past situation, then the outcome might be dramatically less than before, since today, most consumers are more into using social media to glean information before purchasing. On the other hand, the circumstances are extremely different between the past and now. That is to say, the factors may be more intricate. In todays’ world, companies in all fields should pay attention to showing the society responsibility as one of the business strategies, since people are more concerned about the sustainable development, while in the past, the majority of consumers only take prices and qualities of the products into consideration. Without mentioning these circumstances, we cannot simply make crucial decisions with the help of the past.

To sum up, we are supposed to make good sides of the past when making decision, instead of rejecting to learn from it or completely depending on it.