Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Although there are several reasonable points to support these conclusions, I tend to disagree with the author.

Firstly, since different points of view can offer wealth perspectives towards specific issues, then it is much objective than by analyzing the events from the only one side. For instance, when considering about putting out a new policy in education, the governments would collect suggestions from not only the citizens form developed districts, but also from those in remote areas, in order to maintain the equalitarian of the policy. For it is likely that some parents from undeveloped areas will be concern about the education inclination of resources, then they would not agree with the policy until several details in the policy could be improved. Next, the government would take these conflict views into account to polish the final policy. Therefore, the opposite views benefit the decision-making in a more evenhanded aspect.

Secondly, by discussing the issue with those people whose views contradict our own, we could deepen our realization of the element of the issue as well as strengthen our skills in logical thinking. Think about the debating competition. The participants in two teams hold opposite views instead of sharing a same view so that they could show their capabilities in analyzing the ins and cons of the issue and finally convincing their competitors and audience. To convince their competitors, they are should stand in other people’s shoes at first, to learn about their framework, then find out the logical weak points. Consequently, we will further strengthen our ability in logical thinking when construing our opinions towards to people who are against us.

Lastly, there is a great possibility that the disagreement could be mitigated by further researches and more communication, therefore, the stress of persuading others would be released, while the process of learning would soon be truly lucid. That is to say, if we have deeper conversation with those who have different points of views with us, then we can know about the other perspective in thinking, which might resolve several problems in the way we consider about the issue, and even alter the methods we used into a better one. Moreover, the stress we gain from the disagreement mainly comes from the assumption that we are supposed to champion our views to defeat the opposite side . However, if we forgo this assumption, just thinking about how to work out the problem we face, then in this case, we would realize it is unnecessary to figure out who is the winner, and the most vital part is to the efficient method of solving the issue. Thus, it is likely that, by melding the advantages in two opinions which are seemed to be conflict, we would provide the most practical remedy to the issue.

To sum up, without ruling out these circumstances, the conclusions are unwarranted with flaws.