Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

Some anthropologist claim that the research in the future on Tertian child-rearing practices should be conducted via the interview-centered method instead of the observation-centered one, because Dr. Karp’s research via this method has overthrown Dr. Field’s previous conclusion about Tertian village culture by the later. However, they failed to answer several questions to make the unwarranted argument more convincing.

Firstly, one question needed to be answered is that whether the situation in Tertian village remains the same after twenty years. There is a great possibility that, with the fast-speed industrialization, the majority of citizens in Tertian choose to find jobs in big cities nearby for higher salaries. In this case, plentiful of adults have left their children in the hometown, therefore, it is the neighborhoods that take care of their children. Since these children spend less time with their parents than those whose parents work in endemic eras, they would miss their parents more frequently, so that they are more likely to talk about their biological parents than other adults in the village.

Secondly, without ruling out the circumstance that the children who took part in the interview have the similar features in aspects which might affect the results, such as ages, gender and family environments. If the main parts of participants in two researches have significant difference, then it is reasonable to have various conclusions. In addition, if the rate of divorce twenty years ago was higher than nowadays, it is more likely that children in those single-parent families were brought up with the care of whole village, since their parents were separated and offered less family time.

Lastly, the question that whether the disadvantages in the interview-centered approach are salient to influence the reality situation should not be ignored. Although the interview-centered method has several advantages in gleaning data, it is still affected adversely by quantities of uncontrol factors. For example, if the participants are not so willing to provide the real opinions toward their biological parents due to the concern about privacy, they would probably belie something during the interviews, which can dramatically alter the results. Furthermore, the observation-centered method might be more objective, since the researchers portray and follow up the real situation without bothering the children, which enhances the convincing level of the research.

To sum up, due to the lack of considering about the assumptions above, the argument supporting the interview-centered method has several flaws.