Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The arguer claims that all the faculty in colleges and universities are supposed to spend time working beyond the academic fields in professions relevent to the courses they teach. I tend to agree with this argument.

Firstly, one of the consequences of implementing this policy is that, working outside the academic world can bring the latest trends in the professions related to the lessons, which benefits the students to learn about the application of knowledge in real workplace. For instance, the teachers from economic and managent schools can provide the newest business cases to their students if they are working as one of the think tank in several companies, then the students are more likely to learn about how the business run with doing consumer researches, designing new products, making advertsing campagins, and setting vital strategies, so that they can understand the courses deeply. In addition, the experience shared by the faculty offer the students a brief introduction in certain fields, which helps them to find out their dream job and make career plans.

Secondly, when it comes to the faculty, it also contributes to the researches they are working on. The staff in colleges and unis have their own researches, thus they need to glean resources in certain areas to support their academic reseaches. If a professor in marketing work as a business partner in FMCG industry, then he can do researches with the help of the companies by sending questionnaires to a large amount of consumers and collect more convincing data, since most consumer data from various areas have already been collected and well-analyized by the researching departments of the companies.

However, the flaw we cannot ignore is that it might leave less time for the faculty to communicate with their students in the class, which are more likely to cause bring worse outcomes with lower efficiency. Teaching students in the class plays a significant role in the campus life of the faculty, thus it may have some adverse effect on the performance in teaching evaluation in. Moreover, not every staff in the colleges and unis are suitable for working in firms, especially in those compaines which belong to competitive fields, such as Internet compaines.

To sum up, although there are several trivial disadvantages in the policy, I think it would be better to be implemented instead of being confined.