Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: Sometimes people think nowadays the media (TV, newspaper, Internet) are less concerned about the accuracy of news than in the past, and the incorrect information may cause more problem to the public.

Sydney J. Harris once commented, “ The real danger is not that computers will begin to think like men, but that men will begin to think like computers.” With the advent of computer technology and globalization, many people have been hinging upon the media to stay informed of the happenings around the world. Convenience seems to take precedence. One ramification of this trend is that people are less likely to sift through information and therefore have become less concerned about the precision and accuracy of the news, which directly or indirectly cause some societal problems, as distinctively described in the prompt.

To begin with, media nowadays are inclined to fabricate fake news in order to attract more readership. With more and more avenues of gaining knowledge and information, the distribution of readership has become dissipated. Therefore, media need to come up with fake yet eye-catching, attention-getting news to make readers stop to read the news stories. To exemplify, two months ago, media in Taiwan collaborated a fake story about the impending increase in the price of tissue papers. Specifically, the media news all together reported that the cost of tissue papers would increase by thirty percent. Such astonishing news immediately caused wide panic and trepidation over the amount of daily expenses among people, who all raged to nearest malls, grocery stores, or super-markets to stock the supply of tissue papers before the alleged price increase. The resultant commotion also caused some societal issues, such as that people engaged in physical fight (or altercation) when they could not get their hands on a bag of tissues papers. The turmoil had gotten out of control to an extent that Taiwanese government had to later announce that the news regarding the price increase was forged by the media, which intended to manipulate the Taiwanese residents.

Furthermore, in addition to media being the scourge of the societal issue, media deliberately send out news so that they can gain control to sway public affairs. In other ways, being able to fake news means that media would have any clout over the shape of any societal formation since people generally believe in the media’s portrayal. The Supreme Court in Taiwan last year ruled that barring same-sex marriage would not be in accordance with the Constitution. While many people were celebrating for the advancement of human rights in Taiwan, some media controlled by more conservative factions began to broadcast news to disparage homosexuality by claiming that every homosexual person at least had one-thousand partners in his or her life. By faking such news, these media have successfully stirred some opposition against same-sex marriage, thereby temporarily preventing the passing of the same-sex marriage. The result of this is more profound. It has instigated many social reforms and protests, causing societal division.

Irrefutably, some dissidents may disavow my arguments by claiming that media pay more meticulous attention to the accuracy of the news that they broadcast. Their argument is grounded on the fact that more and more people have become educated, and these people also have more ways to make their voices heard. Therefore, provided that media attempted to send out inaccurate news, their bright readers would immediately spot it and send their opinions to editorials, protesting for a change. Granted, with people’s level of education increasing, people are better at appraising the accuracy of news; however, have these people forgotten that people’s perspective of news has drastically changed; that is, people in contemporary society have regarded news from media as nothing but a source of entertainment. Those educated people are clearly cognizant of the fact that journalists or those involved in media contrive news, peppering news with absorbing stories or pictures or horrifying headlines as a gimmick to increase their sales and the coverage. Transmission of news, be it accurate or inaccurate, has deteriorated into a form of business enterprise, where giving out inaccurate news can be more tantalizing than banal, trite, and uninviting accurate news. Therefore, why not broadcasting or reporting fake news? Besides, media need not assume much responsibility for faking news since they can always blame it on the source of the news or readers who actually buy the story. Therefore, I do believe that media nowadays care less about the accuracy of the news and this problem has indeed contributed to many social issues, just as evidenced by what Mitchell Kapor once said, “Getting information off the Internet is like taking a drink from a fire hydrant.”