Do you agree/disagree with the statement? Playing sports teaches people important lessons in their life.

Michael Jordan once commented, “Just play. Have fun. Enjoy the game.” Indeed, playing sports helps us relax and find a venue to release our pent-up pressure from our lives. Therefore, we should really relish the moment when playing sports, enjoying the adrenalines shooting up through our bodies and feeling the sweat brushing against our cheeks and bodies, and disregarding all the anxieties and nuisances in life. As much as I enjoy playing sports to make me happier and more positive, I, however, have to argue that playing sports is beyond playing sports. It in fact can teach us some life philosophies and enrich us, not just physically but also mentally.

To begin with, playing sports teaches people the importance of being healthy. That is, in contemporary society, many people have regarded medication as panacea, thinking that any sorts of ailments can be treated. They simply take their well-beings for granted without consciously tending their bodies by exercising. However, what modern people fail to recognize is that our bodies are more susceptible to sickness than ever since modern people face an accumulating amount of pressure from work or schoolwork. After I graduated from college, I landed a job at a huge computer company as a computer engineer. Young and free from any illness then, I thought that I could stay healthy since my body could recuperate from whatever sickness I was afflicted with. Besides, my depressing workload had been occupying my schedule, so rarely did I have time to hit the gym or exercise. After having led this kind of life for about a year, I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes at the age of twenty-five and risked getting a heart attack. So dumbfounded and shocked was I that I could not register this piece of news. The doctor later told me that because my body had been in an indolent or torrid state, my bloods were replete with an excess amount of trans-fat and saturated fat, which had been clogging the blood flow inside my heart. The doctor later preached me that even if I had been young back then, my body would still have needed regular overhaul and need constant movement. After taking up the doctor’s advice, I now insist in exercising one hour per day, however busy I am. After running on the treadmill or doing elliptical or engaging in intense cardio exercise for about two years, I have found myself feeling more wholesome and the risk of me getting a heart attack is completely gone.

Furthermore, one can learn more deeply about team-work via playing sports. That is, during the sports time, we would have to interact with our friends or our peers so that we could gain the most pleasure out of the sports that we are doing. Therefore, teamwork and synergy have become critically important. To exemplify this, in high school time, I was on the soccer team, and in fact, I was the captain of our school soccer team. However, I was pretty self-conceited back then, thinking that I was the best player on the team, and therefore, the winning of the games would be solely depended on me. However, one time in a tournament, our team was defeated because I was insistent on shooting the ball into the gate all by myself, not willing to pass the ball to my teammate who was standing at a vantage point. Facing the loss, not only was I feeling guilty but also I was incompetent. My coach and my teammates, instead of blaming me, comforted and encouraged me by saying that “we” could do better the next time. Their words were like an awakening call, making me realize that it is “we” rather than “I” that is playing the game. Learning the lesson the hard way, I therefore started to focus more on teamwork, cooperating with my team members to come up with strategies and tactics so that we could work in sync. In the next tournament, not surprisingly, out teamwork override the strength of our rivals and got us the championship.

Irrefutably, some dissidents may disavow my arguments by claiming that playing sports is merely for entertainment. There are few, if not none, pedagogical values embedded in playing sports. However, have these people forgotten that playing sports are more than just entertaining? have these people not realized that playing sports can be instructive as textbooks. It can help us unwind, without having to dwell on our pressure. It can let us recognize the importance of slowing down, not having to keep living in such a fast pace. It can represent a microcosm of our society, teaching us how our society, our world, and our civilization operates. Playing sports is a medium whereby we can introspect our lives and plan a more promising and fulfilling life for the future.