Many companies sell products or service but at the same time cause environmental damage. Some say it can be stopped by asking them to pay penalty, such as a higher tax when they cause the environmental damage. Others say there are better ways to stop them from harming environment . What do you think is the best way to prevent the environment from deteriorating ?

Can you picture there were flocks of birds flying high up in the sky, or perched on tree branches, chirping and hopping around? Suddenly one day, they all disappeared, nowhere to be seen. This is exactly what is depicted in Rachel Carson’s “Silent Spring,” where she vividly points out the drawbacks of extensive use of DDT and passionately advocates the importance of environmental protection. In my opinion, a destroyed environment is just like a noxious tumor, afflicting pain and devastation permanently. In fact, when companies sell products or service while causing environmental damage, I believe that mandating them to pay higher taxes will most effectively deter them from continuously polluting the environment.

To begin with, no companies like paying high taxes, since the higher the taxes they have to pay, the lower their revenues will become. Provided that companies are required to pay high taxes, companies will attempt to seek for more environmentally friendly materials or ingredients manufacture their products, thus mitigating the damage caused to the environment. To exemplify, a very famous Taiwanese company that produced plastic plates releases toxins such as copper or cadmium into the nearby rivers where the company was located. The resulting consequence is that people living downstream become critically ill because of the contaminated water they have been drinking. People living in the villages downstream also needed to pay to have the water cleaned. However, the expenses of going to the doctor or paying to clean the water were not reflected on the plastic plates that this company produced and the residents of the villages instigated a protest. Such negative externality eventually prompted the local government to impose a high tax, specially thirty-four percent of the total revenues from the plastic plates sold, on the company. This plastic-plate company eventually could not bear the high cost from the tax and replaced the artificial ingredients with those that were less harmful and could be recycled by the environment, such as paper, for the production of their plates.

Furthermore, regulating the environmental damage via high taxes can be more effective since it suggests that the regulation directly comes from the government and everyone has to comply with it. If any company refuses to pay taxes, it might face the fate of being shut down. The direct control and supervision from the government would be the most effective method of containing the environmental harm among the other methods that might not be rigidly implemented. For instance, an oil refinery factory in Beijing, China emitted an excessive amount of carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide into the air, causing the air quality to be compromised. Despite the severe pollution and damage to the air quality, the local government did not regulate the factory’s harmful gaseous emissions since the country weighed more emphasis on the economic development. Therefore, some non-profit organizations organized by the local citizens waged a protest, asking the factory to close or even occupying the front door of the factory, not allowing the employees to get in or get out. The owner of the factory eventually conceded, agreeing to reduce the harmful emissions. However, this did not last long. Not until the protest was over for about a month did the oil refinery factory began to gush out lots of carbon dioxide, soot, and other noisome particulate matter. The damage ended up not being controlled effectively. Therefore, only via the government’s power can environmental damage caused by companies be effectively and permanently controlled.

Although higher taxes might exert much more strain on companies’ budgets or revenues or incomes, however, as the condition of Earth deteriorates and more and more people advocate for sustainable development, some government penalty in the form of higher taxes is considered not only important but also imperative. After all, we would not want our offspring to witness barren and arid landscapes, where greenery is an luxury that they cannot afford.