"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the letter asseverates that Consolidated Industries should invest more in the retail sale of home heating oil because of the recent population growth in the northeastern United States, where winters can be extremely cold, and because of the traditional way of heating houses via oil. However, such arguments are rife with holes and unwarranted assumptions and some far-reaching implications might manifest themselves if the assumptions are proven unwarranted.

First and foremost, the author assumes that the weather forecast foreshadows that the inclement weather, the below-normal temperature, will likely continue for the ensuing years, and the demand for heating oil would therefore likely increase in response to the more people needing the heating oil for heating their homes. However, this part of the stated assumption can be readily repudiated or proven wrong since the weather forecast is based on the last heating season. The one-time happening of extremely cold temperatures does not necessarily augur the same for the future patterns, since weather patterns are contingent upon a host of mercurial variables. Therefore, one of the implications of this assumption being proven unwarranted is that the demand for heating oil might not witness the predicted soaring; instead, how such demand will change will be unpredictable, if more data or more factors to ascertain the future weather patterns are left undiscussed.

Another stated assumption that needs to be appraised more properly and thoroughly is that although many new homes are being constructed in the region where winters are traditionally cold, we cannot be certain what kind of heating systems that these newly-built houses will be using. As stated in the beginning of the prompt, most homes in the northeastern Untied States have been exploiting oil as their major fuel for heating. However, one factor that the author fails to consider is that these houses have been old and dilapidated, a condition that forces the occupants to use nothing other than heating oil as their major fuel. The author further assumes, albeit ungrounded, that the new abodes will be using the same heating method. However, perhaps the new houses can be built with more modern way of heating, thanks to the aid of modern architecture. Therefore, this implies that these new houses will not be using the heating oil and the recommended investment in the retail sale of home heating oil might founder, accordingly.

Another respect where the unstated assumption seems contentious is the duration of the expected days where the winter temperatures are extremely low. Specifically, on the basis of what had happened last heating season, the below-normal temperatures lasted about roughly three months, ninety days. This seems to denote that there are about nine months during which the region does not experience extremity inclement weather and that people inhabiting the region would not need as much fuel as the reading adumbrates. Further, the author does not elucidate the correlation between the preferred heating source and the recent population growth. Were the recent growing populations composed of busy office workers who rarely have time to add fuels to heat their homes, they might opt for more efficient way of heating, such as electric heating. Therefore, the author should consider the nature of the recent population growth, specifically probing into what their preferred ways of heating sources, before he outright asserts that the booming populations relish the same heating means, since these will be the target group of the customers that the recommendation zeroes in on.

All told, notwithstanding the appeal of arguing in favor of increasing the retail sale of home heating oil due to the expected low temperatures plaguing the northeastern United States and the increasing number of new houses being built, the validity of the arguments made by the author is flimsy because the assumptions the argument depends on are shaky. He could further cement his argument by delving further into the climate prediction, the logistics and design of new houses, and the needs and wants of the growing populations in terms of their predilection for heating sources.