A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the article makes an appealing yet spurious argument that the government should focus more on educating bicyclists about bicycle safety and less on encouraging them to wear helmets. This argument of the author’s is contingent upon such assumptions as the unidirectional causal relation between the increased number of bicyclists wearing helmets in the past decade and the increased reportage of bicycle-related accidents. Further, the author assumes that the increased number of bicycle accidents can be ascribed to bicyclists feeling complacently safer for wearing helmets, thereby causing them to take more risks. The author, however, rarely makes a cogent case, for the assumptions that he hinges upon are rife with holes.

The author first draws upon statistics to connect the increased number of bicyclists and the increased number of bicycle accidents. The assumption pertinent to the causality between the forty-five percent increase of bicycles over the past decade and the increased two hundred percent of bicycle-remelted accidents, however, is rife with holes; to be more specific, the author blatantly assumes that the parallel of two sets of increased trends is causally related; however, the comparison based on the statistics is not outright accurate since over the past ten years, the entire population may have increased exponentially as well, thereby followed by more people or bicyclists reporting the accidents. Provided that the percentage, instead of the number, of the bicycle-related accident per person were lower compared with that in ten years ago, if true, we could safety assume riding bicycles with helmets on would still be safe. If the percentage of the number of population and the number of accidents ten years ago and today were provided for proper comparison, the author’s assumption regarding the statistical relation would be more sound.

Further, the author attributes the increased bicycle accidents to bicyclists caring less and taking more risks; however, such an assumption is unwarranted, since there might be a host of other variables that might contribute to more accidents. One implication is that perhaps over the past ten years, the road conditions of the city have become worse, such as more bumpy roads or roads with more hole, and the government fails to immediately address the issue. Another plausible factor is that maybe it is the car drivers who are the culprits. Perhaps car drivers are not trained rigorously and they possess poor driving skills and are inept to handle emergencies. Or one needs to probe into where the research studies were conducted. Perhaps they were done in bicycling sites, such as slippery roads or precipitate slopes, where the likelihood of accidents is high. The possibility of accidents is high enough to accumulate into records of accidents. Whatever the case is, bicyclists are hardly to blame and they might be victims.

Lastly, the author assumes that in order to effectively reduce the number of injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should launch an education program to instruct people about bicycle safety. This assumption cannot be foolproof since the author does not substantiate his claim by showcasing the efficacy of the government’s education program. Besides, perhaps ten years ago, most of the bicyclists were senior people, who preferred to ride bicycles slowly, whereas recent years have witnessed more and more youthful bicyclists who relish speedy riding. If they are told by the government not to wear helmets and paying heed to the safety only, the consequence will still be severe since young bicyclists might simply “hear” the advice but not adhere to it. Asking them to wear helmets can instead be more helpful.

All told, with all the stated or unstated assumptions involved in the newsletter—proving the disability of helmets for bicyclists and convincing the government to offer bicycle-safety lecture rather than encouraging people to wear helmets, the author fails to consider deeper connection and the causal relation among these assumptions to make his position unassailable. The author would have to make a more well-rounded research; otherwise, imprudent recommendation might be misleading and cause even more severe problems in the long run.