Agree or disagree: When parents do not have time to take care of their children, should they bring their child to child-care center or individual care-giver?

Larry Mcmurty once commented, “Young things mainly belong to themselves. How they grow up depends on who gets attached to them.” The importance of the environment where children are reared and of who raise them cannot be over-underscored. Nowadays, with the advent of globalization and prospering economy, many parents have found themselves occupied more with their work, which leaves them less and less time to take care of their children. Therefore, whether sending children to child-care centers or hiring individual care-givers to tend their young has been a critical issue that many parents need to contemplate over. It is of my belief that parents should bring their children to child-care centers.

To begin with, sending children to child-care centers instead of to individual care-givers allows children to acquire some social skills. To be more specific, when children are exposed to other kids, they would gradually learn how to interact and mingle with other kids, which is paramount in helping them develop how to engage with others peacefully and in accordance with socially expected decorums. For example, when I was five-years old, my parents, who were both involved in international-business enterprises, had to travel around the world, so they were barely at home. I was sent to a day-care center, therefore. Though feeling lonely and timid at first, I gradually learned how to share my cookies with the other children, or how to communicate my emotions when I was feeling down, or how to collaborate with the other kids to build a sand castle together. The other kids at the day-care center were very gregarious and we were all willing to help each other out when in need. Learning how to work in synergy with others at an early age has become natural to me. Therefore, now working at a huge tech company, I usually volunteer help when my colleagues do not know how to write a computer program or turn to others when I cannot conjure up ideas for my projects. Therefore, one benefit of sending children to child-care centers is that children can become more attuned to how members in the society work.

Furthermore, if children are sent to child-care centers, children’s emotional needs can be fulfilled and this can significantly facilitate their cognitive development, thereby improving their learning. That is, we human beings cannot survive, not to mention thrive, alone by ourselves. We need friends and companion to journey with us in life, through ups and downs. Children are no exception. They also need friends to play with and friends to share with joy of getting their newly-bought toys. If children are sent to individual care-givers, such emotional component of a child’s development might deprived since care-givers are older than children. According to a study done at University of California-Davis by Child Development Department, fifty children at the age of five were recruited to test if the trajectory of children’s emotional development would impact in any way their performance at grade-school education later. The researchers divided the subjects into two groups, where children in one group were left unattended when they were hungry whereas their counterparts in the other group were taken good care of. Children not being taken care of were more inclined to get agitated and irritated when their needs were not met. On the other hand, children in the other group felt more satisfied and were more capable of focusing on other tasks. The researchers later administered an algebra quiz whose difficulty matched that of 1st grade math and discovered that those in the group whose emotional needs were tended scored significantly higher those whose emotional needs were ignored. This certainly speaks volumes about the importance of sending children to child-care centers in order for their emotional needs to be satisfied.

It is true that sending children to individual care-givers can allow children to receive more tailor-made and the most attentive care. However, I deeply believe that children cannot be isolated from the world. They need to learn how our world, our society, and our civilization functions. Since child-care center is like a microcosm of our society, sending children to it can help children adapt to our world better and faster, with a host of other benefits.