The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout—which are known to eat amphibian eggs—were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the letter claimed that the species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park has drastically reduced caused by the introduction of trout to the park. However, the argument is not plausible due to the lack of the evidence.

To evaluate the argument, the fist evidenced needed is about the real number of species and that of each species. The author assumed that the number of amphibians has tremendously declined based on the observation that only four species left and each of them has declined drastically in number. However, the observation could be not accurate. If a great deal of amphibians including three other species were not observed due to some reasons, such as construction, hidden places, and time of observation. If this proves to be true, the author’s argument amount trout causing the reduction of amphibians is not plausible.

To evaluate the argument, the second evidence needed is about the impact of water and air pollution has on emphabians and the pollution level in the Xanadu National Park area. As the authors mentioned the global decline, if the emphabians are susceptible to pollution and the pollution level is high enough to threaten them. It could result in the decline of emphabinas in number. If this proves to be true, the that the author ignores the effect of the pollution and blames trout is not cogent.

To evaluate the argiuemnt, the last evidence needed is the amount of trout in the park. The trout was introduced to the park in 1975; however, due to amount introduced and the local ecosystem, the trout may not have a big enough population to substantially threaten the number of the species and the amount as a whole. If it proves to be true, the author’s advocacy that trout is the reason of amphabianas’ tremendous decline is not convincing.