The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

“In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout – which are known to eat amphibian eggs – were introduced into the park.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument presented in the letter to the editor of the environmental magazine is well presented and reasonable at a glance. In the letter, the author concludes that there is a reduction in the number of amphibian species in Xanadu National Park caused by trout which was introduced into the park in 1975. The conclusion of the author was based on a 1975 census and 2002 observations made in the park. While it might be true that the trout is the reason for the decline in the number of amphibians in the park, before the credibility of the argument can be properly measured, the author needs to provide three pieces of additional evidences.

First of all, the author assumes that the 1975 wildlife census was conducted scientifically. However, no evidence is offered to prove the credibility of this assumption. It is possible that the census was not conducted well. Perhaps, the personnel who conducted the census might not have the expertise required to carry out census. Even if they are expert, it is possible they were not careful enough during the process of counting, which will have large influence on the overall result of the census. Additionally, the method used in counting the amphibians might not have been the best method. If the scenarios described above are true, then the validity of the author’s contention is weakened.

Additionally, the author makes assumption that the only cause of the decline in the number of amphibians is the trout introduced. This may not be true. For example, one of the factors that might have caused the decline could be the pollution of water and air that the author ignores in his argument. Besides, it is possible that predators are the cause of the disappearance of the amphibians in the park. The credibility of the author’s argument is therefore weakened if the examples above are valid.

Finally, the author’s argument lies on the assumption that a species being easily observable is indicative of its actual number. Perhaps some of the species were hiding which made them not to be noticed while observation is being carried out. Also, is possible for the observer to make mistake while observing. The author’s contention is hampered if these examples are correct.

In conclusion, the argument presented in the letter to the editor of the environmental magazine presented in the prompt above in the prompt above might be valid, but, there are no information to support the assumptions described earlier, as a result, the argument is weakened. Therefore, substantial evidence is needed to prove that the cause of the decline in the amphibians in Xanadu National Park is the trout introduced to the park.