"It is always an individual who is the impetus for innovation; the details may be worked out by a team, but true innovation results from the enterprise and unique perception of an individual."

Innovation, by definition means starting something for the first time in other words, introducing new thing. Some would argue that output of innovations results from group of individual working as a team. But others would say that true innovation comes from an individual’s perception. In my view, true innovation come from the perception of an individual and not from a team with the reasons described below.

To start with, true innovation originates from the mind. Individual has peculiar or unique mind. It follows that, any new thing that is being introduced, have been perceived in the mind of an individual before it’s been implemented physically. This is supported by a common saying “the creation of anything starts in the mind”. For instance, house builders need a building plan in erecting any building on site. Who created the building plan? The builders? definitely no. There must have been a designer, probably an architect who might have “created” the building footprint or master plan in the mind, and translate his perception into drawing, which will guide the builders who will work in accordance with the plan in building the structure. Critically speaking, innovation results from the unique perception of “a single designer” and not from different individuals.

In addition, great innovations that we see today could be traced to an individual who started it and not to a group of people. A very good example is the innovation of telephone. Graham Bells, was the one who invented telephone that is widely used today in serving several purposes. Other examples include several technologies which ranges from internet, google search engine, facebook, Virtual reality and so on, which were all introduced by one person who, definitely, have perceived or conceptualized this as an idea in his mind. That being said, it is evident that true creation of a new thing is not attributed to a team rather, to an individual who first perceive it.

Even though true innovation is as a result of the perception of an individual, it would not be fair to ignore the fact that, the success of any innovation depends largely on the different people, infact could be from different field of study, coming together in order to achieve a goal, which is the implementation of ideas conceived someone. For example, the innovation of the Unmanned Aerial Vehicles, involves different expert such as programmer, mechanical engineer, electronics engineer and so on, coming together to work on an idea perceived by an individual.

In conclusion, for true innovation results which is “created” from the perception of an individual to come to reality, there is need for “working out” by different individuals who will come together.