It is always an individual who is the impetus for innovation; the details may be worked out by a team, but true innovation results from the enterprise and unique perception of an individual.

Innovations are important in the advancement of the human race. Innovator(s) seeks to find a lasting solution to one of the challenges of life. The innovators of the first antibiotics, electric light, motor car, aeroplane, Facebook, Twitter etc are all well documented.

However, it is difficult to truly attribute an innovation to an individual. Several people could have worked on the idea before the supposed innovator. For example, the Wright brothers were credited with the innovation of the aeroplane, however the idea of the aeroplane has been mooted for several decades before the Wright brothers successfully flew an airplane.

Also, Mark Zuckerberg and his friend started Facebook in the early 2000s to connect people across the Atlantic Ocean, people from diverse backgrounds and who would have never met. This is truly an innovation which have redefined friendship across the world. But can this innovation be truly credited to Zuckerberg?

It is widely accepted today that Zuckerberg even though he is the Chief Executive Officer of Facebook is not the only innovator of the social media giant. His college friend who started the idea together with him is also fairly credited for the emergence of Facebook.

In addition, Michael Faraday is credited as the innovator of the electric bulb. He achieved this feat after several attempts. However, the physics behind the electric bulb have been known long before Faraday employed it in the creation of the electric bulb.

Today Nobel prize winners are usually a group of people who have worked together to achieve a common goal. It follows that complex problems usually require the effort of a team.

In conclusion, it could be true that the thought process of an individual could be the major force behind the realisation of an innovation, but we cannot ignore the effort of the team members in the process.