From a letter to the editor of a city newspaper.

"One recent research study has indicated that many adolescents need more sleep than they are getting, and another study has shown that many high school students in our city are actually dissatisfied with their own academic performance. As a way of combating these problems, the high schools in our city should begin classes at 8:30 A.M. instead of 7:30 A.M., and end the school day an hour later. This arrangement will give students an extra hour of sleep in the morning, thereby making them more alert and more productive. Consequently, the students will perform better on tests and other assignments, and their academic skills will improve significantly."

The author of the letter above argues that high school students needs more sleep in order to be productive at school. He based this argument on the outcome of two disparate research studies. On research concluded that many adolescent needs more sleep than they are getting, while the other concluded that high school students in the author's city are dissatisfied with their academic performance. However this argument lacks logic and the premise with which the author based his assumptions is weak.

The first research that concluded that many adolescent needs more sleep than they are getting does not indicate that these adolescents include high school students in the author's city. Hence concluding that schools in the author's city should resume at 8:30am instead of 7:30am might be a wrong conclusion. The study might have been carried out in a city where school hours spans from 6:30am to 6:00pm. Comparing such a city to the author's city will therefore be unsubstantiated.

Further, the author mentioned that high school students in his city are dissatisfied with their academic performance based on the research study. However, we do not know if there are factors other than early school resumption implicated in their poor performance. If schools in the author's city do not have competent teachers and other resources that can facilitate comprehensive learning then opening such a school an hour later will definitely not improve the academic performance of the students. Bad parenting, lack of basic writing materials, too much of academic workload and low intelligence quotients (IQ) are several factors that could have equally contributed to the poor academic performance of the students.

While it is true that a better sleep can contribute to better productivity, it is not clear if reducing the schooling hours will be utilised by the students in getting better sleep. The students could have invested the extra hours in other activities such as playing video games.

Also the sleep-wake cycle is usually unique for an individual. For some people, an average of 8hrs sleep will be sufficient while for others this will be detrimental. Too much sleep can also stymie productivity.

In addition, we should remember that sleep-wake cycle is usually difficult to change, hence altering the schooling hours may not translate into extra hour of sleep for the students.

The author could have strengthened his argument by mentioning that the two research studies represents a significant number of high school students in the author's city. Also a survey sampling the opinions of school administrators on reducing the school hours would have definitely give the argument an immutable status.